OPM and Moderator Chuck Hamrick's Avatar
    Affiliate's Opinion on Attribution??
    So I have been working with attribution for several years for various reasons. We publish the attribution ratios for the programs but not completely sure how it comes across to affiliates. What is your experience (if any) with programs running attribution? Do you see a lift in commissions? Decline? Would like to start a general conversation in this thread, don't be bashful.

ABW Ambassador
    I don't have a huge issue with attribution if the split is between "other affiliates."

But one merchant I'm with (Patagonia) also includes themselves in attribution. From what I can gather from their TOS, if a person visits their website at some point in some "unknown past", then visits an affiliate site and follows an affiliate link, the commission is cut due to attribution (Whenever I've seen this in my reports, I always have the "influencer" rate, or 40% of the total commission). What bothers me the most out of it is the vagueness of it all. How long ago is the visit to the merchants site valid for attribution to happen? A day? A week? A month? A year? Forever?

I don't like that vagueness. That type of vagueness is one reason I dumped another outdoor program (on a different network). Patagonia still converts ok for me, so I keep them for now. But they definitely don't get the promotion they otherwise would due to this vague attribution model.

Quote Originally Posted by Chuck Hamrick View Post
    What is your experience (if any) with programs running attribution?

could you state what attribution is? some readers may not know.

We publish the attribution ratios for the programs

could you give examples? or what is common?
    The internet is a fad.

Affiliate Network Rep JCrooks - AffiliateWindow's Avatar