Lightbulb Starting an affiliate program. Have concerns and questions. Would appreciate opinions
    Hi everyone. I am a software developer. I have a downloadable product and website live and ready (has only been up for a number of months), and want to start a CPS affiliate program to get my product out there into the public eye. The software is for small-medium sized businesses, will operate on a subscription model, and would be suitable for many different types of businesses around the world (possibly individuals too). It can be single or multi-user and will be priced from around $130 USD per annum for a single user up to $1,100 USD per annum for 15 users, and it can scale higher. I am looking at giving affiliates 50% commission for the first five years of subscriptions for each customer - after any merchant and money transfer fees have been deducted. I’m also going to look into making the subscription payments monthly or quarterly.

I’ve been reading forums and researching affiliate networks. The main themes/concerns I see repeated are:

For affiliates:
    • They want to ensure they get paid.
    • They want the process to be easy.
    • They only want to operate through affiliate networks.
    • They only want to promote the things that are selling like hot-cakes.

For Merchants:
    • The affiliate network’s fees in the form of commissions and ongoing fees – including monthly fees if you don’t do enough sales.
    • Being dropped by affiliate networks if your product doesn’t perform.
    • Fees for credit card chargebacks for fraudulent purchases – which I read, can happen a lot.

I completely “get” the points above for affiliates. I was however thinking of bypassing affiliate networks and running my own affiliate program (using existing cloud-based or other software. Eg. iDevAffiliate) and dealing directly with affiliates. My questions are: