I'm new to CJ, and I think I believed their assertion that the 1x1 pixels needed to be present and the merchant logos/banners had to be pulled off their server for accurate tracking. Well, since this setup wasn't quite compatible with my site, I ended up making some changes to the backend and dynamic pages to make it work. It seems to be working, but its a bit of a clumsy setup. For one thing, images load off the qksrv server a lot slower than my own.

Before I end up changing all my pages, I figured I'd find out just how necessary this is. This post suggests that at least the 1x1 pixel images are unnecessary for sales tracking, just needed for impression tracking. Can someone reassure me on this and explain the situation for logos/banners? Banners aren't much of a problem, but I'd like to keep logos local to my server.

EDIT: Also, is there a way to get plain links with your PID and an AID that's isn't associated with any image? Or perhaps I should say, just an AID that's directly associated with the merchant and doesn't reference an image?

Unless your CJ merchant allows it in their affiliate agreement, you need to keep the qksrv image on the page with the link, or they may drop you. It messes with their statistics gathering hoozits..

--
    "No matter how dark things seem to be or actually are, raise your sights and see the possibilities – always see them, for they're always there." – Norman Vincent Peale
    --
    Ford Fox-body Owners Club
    http://www.ford-fox.org

I like traffic lights
    Southern hemisphere - away from Fukushima
    >For one thing, images load off the qksrv server a lot slower than my own.

Possibly because your server is closer to you, and better connected to your location?

quote:
    Originally posted by FFoc:
    Unless your CJ merchant allows it in their affiliate agreement, you need to keep the qksrv image on the page with the link, or they may drop you. It messes with their statistics gathering hoozits..