Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    "An Englishman In New York" TJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    3,282
    Help, is anyone else having any trouble with the XML script today? The old version works, but all my pages are encoded for the new version.... Any thoughts?

  2. #2
    ABW Ambassador CrazyGuy's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    1,463
    I think/hope it's the amazon services that are slow/having problems. Went to their forums earlier but didn't see anything.

    Unfortunately it started at a time I was testing some new scripts - I wasted ages trying to find bugs that weren't there.

    It does throw up a problem with this though - I'm finding that an entire page is timing out because of the delay in getting the XML stuff - which may only be a tiny part of the page.

    Are you Crazy?

  3. #3
    "An Englishman In New York" TJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    3,282
    Glad i'm not the only one, my page sits for about 1-2 mins and then reports no items found! Really usefull, NOT [img]/infopop/emoticons/icon_frown.gif[/img]

  4. #4
    ABW Ambassador cusimano's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    1,369
    The problem is with Amazon.com Web Services. See the announcement from amazon.com here:

    http://forums.prospero.com/n/mb/mess...msg=26.1&ctx=0

    Your truly,
    Cusimano.Com Corporation
    per: David Cusimano

  5. #5
    "An Englishman In New York" TJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    3,282
    <BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>The problem is with Amazon.com Web Services. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

    The thing that made me more concerned that it was my site at fault - I went to one of your pages and that was up! I guess it was a bad choice of page! hehehehe

    I gotta find someone I can exchange url's with for reference [img]/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif[/img]

  6. #6
    ABW Ambassador cusimano's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    1,369
    Amazon.com Web Services is working again [img]/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif[/img] - see the above URL for the announcement from Amazon.com.

    @Akoss: you continued to see amazon.pl XML results at my website because the particular page you accessed was probably in my cache. Your cache files are stored in the "amazon-cache" directory on your server.

    If you have not already done you should have created a subdirectory called "amazon-cache" in the directory where amazon.pl XML is located. See: http://www.cusimano.com/scripts/amazon/xml.html for instructions.

    Yours truly,
    Cusimano.Com Corporation
    per: David Cusimano

  7. #7
    ABW Ambassador cusimano's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    1,369
    <BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by ^akoss^:
    ...my page sits for about 1-2 mins and then reports no items found!<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

    amazon.pl XML has a configuration paramater that lets you set the timeout! The default value is 30-seconds.

    In your amazon.ini file, see the "xfer.timeout" configuration variable. The default value is 30 seconds. The valid range is 30 to 180 seconds.

    You can also set the number of times amazon.pl XML retries after each timeout. See the "xfer.retriesmax" configuration variable in your amazon.ini file. The default value is 0. This value should be fine for most webmasters. The valid range is 0 to 3.

    Yours truly,
    Cusimano.Com Corporation
    per: David Cusimano

  8. #8
    "An Englishman In New York" TJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    3,282
    <BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>amazon.pl XML has a configuration paramater that lets you set the timeout! The default value is 30-seconds.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

    It sure seemed like more than 30 seconds... I'm pretty sure that it IS indeed set to 30 seconds.

    I'm gonna check my page-cache settings, I think perhaps they are too short, I just checked and there are 434 files in there, I guess they were all too old to use today.

    What does everyone use as a default?

  9. #9
    Newbie
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    21
    The Amazon XML service has been buggy these last two days. It is currently really sloooooooowwww.

  10. #10
    Crazy Cat Lady Heidi's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Rochester, NY
    Posts
    1,685
    which would account for almost no sales in the last 2 days. I was amazed at how long it took for one page to load today when I was on one of my sites.

    David... I think I like old amazon better - LOL

    Heidi
    Fit2a-t

  11. #11
    ABW Ambassador webmarm's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    1,713
    I've even had a drop in unique visitors, let alone orders.

    - - - - -
    42. Yup, the answer to life, the universe, and everything.

  12. Newsletter Signup

+ Reply to Thread

Similar Threads

  1. My Product links Are Dead On 2 Pages...
    By Steve Williams in forum PopShops
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: May 24th, 2009, 03:58 PM
  2. Reporting dead links or dead programs
    By Anat in forum ShareASale - SAS
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: May 18th, 2005, 04:58 AM
  3. CJ Links end on Dead Pages?
    By Tracy in forum Commission Junction - CJ
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: March 8th, 2004, 07:29 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •