Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Newbie
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    16
    Hello - I know this is covered very deeply on the amazon.pl website, but I have no programing experience. The script tag is so easy you can get it on a site within a few minutes, but I see that the search engines won't "read" the results as a part of the page.

    Is there any third-grade level explanation of how I can get a simple results list to show up inside a table using the html tag instead of script tag? Is this part of the formmat file? Do you make a different format for each page of a site? What I'm working on is a new page at http://idietbooks.com/best-weight-loss-books.htm

    It looks fine the way it is, but I'd really like to have the search engines be able to see it. Any assistance that I can understand would be greatly appreciated.

    http://www.stress-free-weight-loss.com

  2. #2
    ABW Ambassador webmarm's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    1,713
    Jonni,
    The solution I've most often used is to add a text link to the cgi-bin results (same tag, just not &script bit). That way there is a nice HTML link for the bot to follow that will show it that I am indeed linking to relevant terms on the page. I usually introduce the link with something like "Click on any image below or click here for keyword phrase items".
    Couldn't take a look at your page, for some reason it wasn't coming up for me.

    HTH.

    - - - - -
    42. Yup, the answer to life, the universe, and everything.

  3. #3
    Newbie
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    16
    OK, I can see that I can use a link, instead of having the results pop up in the first page a person visits (which makes the load extremely slow) but I can't see how to get my top logo image and my navigation bar to be on the results page.

    That's where the template probably comes in, but I haven't been able to see an extremely simple example of it being used. Anyone have a page I can look at that shows me what I need to know?

    http://www.stress-free-weight-loss.com

  4. #4
    ABW Ambassador CrazyGuy's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    1,463
    Jonni

    To include amazon.pl results in a page as html, you use a mechanism called "SSI" which stands for "server side includes". In brief, you include a line at the desired location in your page html that tells the server dishing up the page to go and run another program (amazon.pl) and put whatever it outputs here.

    Getting SSI to work can be quite simple or infuriatingly complex, but it does depend on your host/server setup and you will have to do some research/trial and error to get it running.

    Firstly, your pages have to be called .shtml rather than .html (that tells the server to look for the hidden commands), and your host has to allow SSI. Most will allow SSI commands like "include virtual" - whcih is the one you'll use, but some don't allow any.

    I don't think you need to worry too much about templates for this - you can pass basic formatting info with the command so that the results are displayed within your page the way you want.

    Sorry I can't give you a 1-2-3, but a little checking with your web host, some basic reading on SSI, and the amazon.pl documentation will give you everything you need.

    Are you Crazy?

  5. #5
    ABW Ambassador cusimano's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    1,369
    Jonni,

    webmistress's solution of putting a link to amazon.pl (e.g.: on your home page) will provide a separate page that shows the results -- you can use a Results Template to change the overall look-and-feel of that page. Such as http://www.bime.com/cgi-bin/amazon.p...se&mode=290263 which shows "Buns of Steel" exercise videos. Note: Most search engine spiders do follow and index cgi-bin links; Google does.

    GrazyGuy's solution of using SSI (Server Side Include) statement will include the results as HTML in the current page thus the results will be indexed by spiders with the rest of your page. Ask your hosting company if you can use SSI statements on your website, or try the following:

    1. Create a file called test.shtml and type the following in it:

    (html)(body)
    (p)start(/p)
    (!--#include virtual="/cgi-bin/amazon.pl?ssi"--)
    (p)end(/p)
    (/body)(/html)

    NOTE: use < where I typed [ above and use > where I typed ) above.

    NOTE: if you have amazon.pl at a different location (such as: /cgi-bin/amazon/amazon.cgi), replace /cgi-bin/amazon.pl with the correct location.

    2. Upload test.shtml to your website. Put it in the root directory of your website where your home page (e.g.: index.html) is located.

    3. Then access http://www.DOMAINNAME.com/test.shtml (substitute your website's domain name).

    4. If you do not see results, then ask your hosting company about enabling SSI statements for your website.

    5. If you see results then SSI is enabled and you can use SSI include statements on your webpages. You will have to name your webpages .shtml for them to work (P.S.: try renamnig the test.shtml file to test.html -- then access it and see if that works; it may or may not work depending upon your webserver's configuration. If it does then you can use .html as your filenames). The general format to use for the SSI include statement is:

    (!--#include virtual="/cgi-bin/amazon.pl?ssi&PARAMETERS"--)

    Replace ( with < and ) with > and PARAMETERS with the parameters you want to pass to amazon.pl, such type=search&mode=vhs&keyword=exercise+video ---- The "ssi" parameter is required since it tells amazon.pl that you're calling it via an SSI include statement (N.B.: the "script" parameter is only for &lt;script> tags; the "ssi" parameter is only for SSI include statements).

    Note: To use SSI include statements that call amazon.pl, amazon.pl must be installed on the same webserver where the SSI statement is located. So if you have two websites and you want to show results via SSI on both, then you have to install amazon.pl on both webserver. You cannot say something like virtual="http://www.MYOTHERSITE.com/cgi-bin/amazon.pl?..." -- you can only say something like virtual="/cgi-bin/amazon.pl?..." (no domain name).

    Yours truly,
    Cusimano.Com Corporation
    per: David Cusimano

  6. #6
    Newbie
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    16
    Thank you, David, CrazyGuy and webmistress - I think I've got it. It will be fun to play with it tonight, and even more fun if my brain can wrap around your nicely simple instructions.

    http://www.stress-free-weight-loss.com

  7. #7
    Newbie
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    16
    OOPS. I'm trying the html tag with a template. The tag I'm using is http://www.stress-free-weight-loss.com/atkins-diet-plan.html

    I've put a template ( I think) to match my pages in the template file in my cgi bin, and called it "myresults.html"

    I have missed something, obviously. Any suggestions?

    http://www.stress-free-weight-loss.com

  8. #8
    Newbie
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    16
    Oh, part of the problem is that I downloaded the new script, and must have done something wrong. I'll email David directly.

    http://www.stress-free-weight-loss.com

  9. #9
    ABW Ambassador cusimano's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    1,369
    <BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Jonni:
    Oh, part of the problem is that I downloaded the new script, and must have done something wrong.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

    Jonii,

    When I try to access amazon.pl on your server at http://www.stress-free-weight-loss.c...-bin/amazon.pl it shows "500 Internal Server Error". This indicates that the script is not installed properly. Do the following:

    <UL TYPE=SQUARE>
    <LI>Check that the first line of amazon.pl is set to the correct location of perl on your webserver. The default in the script is /usr/local/bin/perl which works on most servers. If you're not sure what to use, ask your hosting company or look at the first line of any other perl script on your server.
    <LI>Reupload amazon.pl in ASCII mode
    <LI>Set the execute permissions of amazon.pl by doing CHMOD 755 (rwxr-xr-x)
    <LI>Try accessing http://www.stress-free-weight-loss.c...-bin/amazon.pl again[/list]

    Yours truly,
    Cusimano.Com Corporation
    per: David Cusimano

  10. #10
    Newbie
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    16
    Thanks, David. I've tried that, and I've reinstalled the old amazon.pl script and tried it - which worked just fine yesterday. I think it may be a host problem, and I've sent an email to them to see if they can't help me out. I was so excited - I thought I had it all figured out.

    http://www.stress-free-weight-loss.com

  11. #11
    ABW Ambassador cusimano's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    1,369
    Jonni,

    I see that you (or your hosting company) got amazon.pl v2.11.25 working on your server again. Note: You should reupload amazon.pl v2.12.28 which is newer and has more features.

    Regarding your original question about using a results template, your http://www.stress-free-weight-loss.c...diet-plan.html page has a link to http://www.stress-free-weight-loss.c...et&pagesize=10

    For the template parameter just use template=myresults without any filename ending (the script automatically tries adding .html then .htm then .shtml until a match is found). Put your results template file in the amazon-template directory (e.g.: upload as cgi-bin/amazon-template/myresults.html). Or you can put your results template in the same directory where amazon.pl is located (e.g.: upload as cgi-bin/myresults.html). FYI, the name of the results template directory is set by the template.dir configuration variable (default is amazon-template).

    Yours truly,
    Cusimano.Com Corporation
    per: David Cusimano

  12. #12
    Newbie
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    16
    Thanks, David. The cgi-bin thing was all my fault - no surprise there. Now I'll tackle that template issue.

    http://www.stress-free-weight-loss.com

  13. Newsletter Signup

+ Reply to Thread

Similar Threads

  1. HTML quote tag
    By Sheri Orloff in forum Programming / Datafeeds / Tools
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: November 8th, 2010, 12:07 AM
  2. Html to Excel script needed
    By PetsWarehouse.com in forum Programming / Datafeeds / Tools
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: March 21st, 2008, 03:28 AM
  3. Html img tag src dynamic page
    By likemynick in forum Programming / Datafeeds / Tools
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: July 12th, 2006, 11:25 AM
  4. Replies: 175
    Last Post: June 21st, 2004, 01:17 PM
  5. Script Tag or HTML tag?
    By bsnrjones in forum Cusimano.com Scripts
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: February 1st, 2003, 07:12 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •