Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Newbie
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    5
    I would like to add bestsellers on every page, but not on browse index

    I've tried to add script this way
    &lt;script SRC="/cgi-bin/amazon.pl?script&type=bestsellers&mode={mode}&format=column&pagesize=5&nocredit"></SCRIPT>

    I need another variable to use instead of {mode}
    to return bestsellers.

    Thank You.

  2. #2
    ABW Ambassador cusimano's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    1,369
    You have to create a set of Results Templates (one for each mode= value) and in each one you would put a specific "bestsellers" &lt; script> tag. Also create amazon.html as a default Results Template.

    This is exactly what we in the "store" templates. Open the amazon-template/store/*.html Results Templates in your HTML editor and you'll see that each one has a different value for the mode= parameter in the &lt; script> in the left column that displays the bestsellers.

    Yours truly,
    Cusimano.Com Corporation
    per: David Cusimano

  3. #3
    Newbie
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    5
    I have so many pages and don't like to make
    templates for every page

    It will be nice to have topsellers in every category depending on mode number, not fixed templates.

    That's what I mean:
    if I have page /cgi-bin/amazon.pl?type=browse&mode=1060624

    I like to see results
    &lt;script SRC="/cgi-bin/amazon.pl?script&type=bestsellers&mode=1060624&format=column&pagesize=5&nocredit"></SCRIPT>

    on my page, but not on browse index

  4. #4
    ABW Ambassador cusimano's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    1,369
    Because of the variety of search types supported, a {mode} value is not possible.

    The script does try to show bestsellers in a grid when viewing a browse index (a page with a bulleted list of sub-browse pages). Unfortunately, the script cannot display this bestsellers grid for some browse pages, in particular, it cannot for mode=1060624 which is the Toysrus.com "R" ZONE page. For example, on the Toys "home page" you'll see "Top Seellers" above the bulleted lists. FYI, the format of the grid is specified via the xgridB configuration variable.

    Yours truly,
    Cusimano.Com Corporation
    per: David Cusimano

  5. #5
    Newbie
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    18
    Try this:

    &lt;script src="http://www.domain.com/cgi-bin/cbooks/amazon.pl?script&type=best&mode=5011&format=column&pagesize=2&nocredit"></script>

    As David says, you must be a bit cautious about the section you reference.

  6. #6
    Newbie
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    18
    Oops! Sorry, that's exactly what you've done.

  7. Newsletter Signup

+ Reply to Thread

Similar Threads

  1. Need Someone to Customize a PHP Script for Me
    By bandi in forum Midnight Cafe'
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: July 30th, 2010, 07:09 PM
  2. Customize
    By kayecee in forum PopShops
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: May 30th, 2009, 01:08 PM
  3. customize ?
    By tulip in forum PopShops
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: April 27th, 2007, 01:04 PM
  4. How can I customize a datafeed?
    By johnnyWebAffiliate in forum Commission Junction - CJ
    Replies: 31
    Last Post: April 27th, 2006, 01:31 AM
  5. How do I customize my signature line?
    By MikeHCDmanager in forum Newbie Affiliate FAQs & Helpful Articles
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: May 16th, 2004, 11:55 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •