Results 1 to 2 of 2
  1. #1
    Newbie
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    1
    I may be dumb, but I can't see how to use the PowerSearch features from within a form. The code:
    http://www.c3scripts.com/cgi-bin/ae....ox+browse:4500

    ...gives the correct search. However, I can't see how to return the correct values to ae.pl from within a form... i.e. specifying "powersearch", keyword(s) and a limiting node (4500).

    My code below clearly doesn't do it... Thanks for any help!
    PC

    <FORM ACTION="/cgi-local/ae.pl" METHOD="GET">
    <INPUT TYPE="HIDDEN" NAME="powersearch" VALUE="">


    <TABLE BORDER="0" CELLSPACING="0" CELLPADDING="0" ALIGN="CENTER">

    <TR>
    <TD> <INPUT TYPE="TEXT" NAME="keywords" SIZE="13" MAXLENGTH="128" STYLE="font-family: Verdana; font-size: xx-small"> <INPUT TYPE="SUBMIT" VALUE="Go" STYLE="font-family: Arial; font-size: xx-small"></TD>
    </TR>
    <TR>
    <TD>
    <select name="browse" size="1" style="font-family: Arial; font-size: xx-small">
    <option value=4500 selected>Screenwriting</option>
    <option value="4484">Writing Supplies</option>
    <option value="4600">Software</option>
    <option value="4700">Computers</option>
    <option value="4800">Magazines</option>
    </select>
    </TD>
    </TR>
    </TABLE>
    <INPUT TYPE="HIDDEN" NAME="format" VALUE="list9">
    </FORM>

  2. #2
    ABW Ambassador cusimano's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    1,369
    Currently, specifying the sub-parameters of the powersearch parameter via a form are not possible. Your sample HTML will not work because the parameter "powersearch" must be passed in its entirety.

    To do what you want, you will have to write a small script that "glues" the submitted keywords and browse parameters together to make an ae.pl URL and then redirects the user to that URL.

    For example, your form would have ACTION="aesearch.pl" (or whatever you name your "glue" script) and it has parameters "keywords" and "browse" (as you've specified in your sample HTML above). Your aesearch.pl script would take those two parameters, generate URL http://www.DOMAINNAME.com/cgi-bin/ae...+browse:BROWSE (your script would substitute DOMAINNAME, KEYWORDS, and BROWSE) and then redirect the user to that URL.

    Yours truly,
    Cusimano.Com Corporation
    per: David Cusimano

  3. Newsletter Signup

+ Reply to Thread

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 2
    Last Post: September 12th, 2014, 06:50 PM
  2. help with w-9 form
    By Richard - AMWSO in forum ShareASale - SAS
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: January 25th, 2007, 05:28 AM
  3. W9 form already?
    By Rhia7 in forum Other Affiliate Networks
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: February 10th, 2006, 04:20 AM
  4. Powersearch form
    By candyr in forum Cusimano.com Scripts
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: February 4th, 2004, 03:39 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •