Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Newbie
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    14
    Hello,

    I am very new to Associate Engine, and also to the way it's sample templates work. I noticed that if type in a correct command in the url window then template start to work on its own afterwords.

    I decided to try the following as my index.html file and it seems to be working, however I need someones expert opinion whether I am doing it correctly.

    <pre class="ip-ubbcode-code-pre">
    &lt;html&gt;

    &lt;head&gt;
    &lt;meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=windows-1252"&gt;
    &lt;/head&gt;
    &lt;body&gt;
    &lt;META http-equiv="Refresh" content="0; url=http://localhost/cgi-bin/ae.pl?type=browse&mode=67240"&gt;&lt;/body&gt;
    &lt;/html&gt;
    </pre>

    This seems to activate the template and works with all templates.

    Thank you,

    kky2k

    [This message was edited by Haiko on November 05, 2003 at 03:57 PM.]

  2. #2
    ABW Ambassador cusimano's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    1,369
    Technically that would work. Note that there is an error in your HTML: META tags only go in the HEAD container. Also, some users turn off "Allow META REFRESH" (Tools > Internet Options... > Security > Custom Level... > Miscellaneous) so the meta refresh is ignored; in that case, you should add a "Click here to enter" link (or whatever text you want).

    You might want to look at have a look at &lt;script> and SSI tags. You could put one on your home page so there is no META REFRESH required. The user would see products on your home page rather than being redirected to an ae.pl URL. See: http://www.c3scripts.com/amazon/easy.html

    Yours truly,
    Cusimano.Com Corporation
    per: David Cusimano

  3. #3
    Newbie
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    14
    I will follow your directions and try to learn more. Now, is there a way to have different keywords meta tags for each new page? I know that title does change automatically.

    Thank you,

    kky2k

  4. #4
    ABW Ambassador cusimano's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    1,369
    Use {title} in your META tag to get the page title, such as:

    &lt;META NAME="keywords" CONTENT="{title}"&gt;

    You can also use {navbar*} in your META tag to get the navbar as text, such as:

    &lt;META NAME="description" CONTENT="{title} -- {navbar*} -- visit us for the latest DVD's"&gt;

    FYI, the * after the variable name causes all HTML in the variable to be removed so that the value can be used in an HTML attribute tag.

    Yours truly,
    Cusimano.Com Corporation
    per: David Cusimano

  5. #5
    Newbie
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    14
    Thank you.

    kky2k

  6. Newsletter Signup

+ Reply to Thread

Similar Threads

  1. Can html index and php index run parallel
    By megatonloh in forum Programming / Datafeeds / Tools
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: April 13th, 2007, 06:55 PM
  2. Dont want index.html to be store
    By makenoiz in forum Cusimano.com Scripts
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: March 24th, 2006, 11:08 AM
  3. No index.html file Allposters
    By makenoiz in forum Cusimano.com Scripts
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: January 12th, 2006, 11:08 AM
  4. html 101 - index.htm or index.html?
    By Cheesehead in forum Programming / Datafeeds / Tools
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: August 31st, 2005, 04:20 PM
  5. index.php and index.html
    By Roland in forum Search Engine Optimization
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: November 21st, 2004, 10:59 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •