Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Newbie
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Huddersfield, UK
    Posts
    13
    Hi,

    I *may* have got this wrong - am newbie user
    of Amazon script - but I seem to be having
    a problem with virtual endings.

    I've got Virtual Directory set up so that
    results look like this (this is not my site,
    but I'm using it as an example):
    http://www.bime.com/amazon/asinsearch_043935806X.html

    *except* for when someone does a search.

    In this case, when I do a search like this on my site
    http://www.bime.com/cgi-bin/ae.pl?ty...d=harry+potter

    my results look like

    - http://www.bime.com/cgi-bin/uk/amazo...0000AN4E8.html

    rather than

    - http://www.bime.com/amazon/asinsearch_B0000AN4E8.html

    And the first link doesn't work.

    (Note: I've installed my script into cgi-bin/uk/ )

    What am I doing wrong, or is there a bug
    in the Amazon script for ae.co.uk ?

    Any help much appreciated

    Thanks
    Steve Nash

    PS This is the .htaccess file I've used

    RewriteEngine on
    RewriteBase /
    RewriteRule ^(amazon)$ $1/ [R]
    RewriteRule ^(amazon)/(.*)(\.[a-z]+)$ cgi-bin/uk/radios.pl?virtual=$2&virtual.dir=$1 [L]
    RewriteRule ^(amazon)/(.*)$ cgi-bin/uk/radios.pl?virtual=$2&virtual.dir=$1 [L]

  2. #2
    "An Englishman In New York" TJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    3,282
    I'm pretty sure (although I've not since checked) that this is correct operation of search with virtual directories. Check the documentation... i'm pretty sure it says this happens.

  3. #3
    "An Englishman In New York" TJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    3,282
    <BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Search Forms
    If you have a search form on your page template so that the user can do a keyword search, the URL that appears in the address bar when the user submits the form will not be a virtual directory.

    The URL will be something like:
    http://www.domain.com/cgi-bin/ae.pl?type=search&....

    Even though the URL will not be a virtual directory, all the links in the results will be virtual directory links.
    <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

  4. #4
    ABW Ambassador cusimano's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    1,369
    Steve,

    In your ae.ini, do you have the following setting for the virtual.dir configuration variable?

    virtual.dir "/amazon"

    If that doesn't help, then fill in the Support form and let me know the cgi-bin URL of your ae.pl

    Yours truly,
    Cusimano.Com Corporation
    per: David Cusimano

  5. #5
    Newbie
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Huddersfield, UK
    Posts
    13
    David,

    <BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>In your ae.ini, do you have the following setting for the virtual.dir configuration variable?
    virtual.dir "/amazon" <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

    Ah, yes that has fixed the problem (I
    forgot the /).

    Thank you very much - I knew I had
    probably made a mistake.

    Steve

    PS Great script!

  6. Newsletter Signup

+ Reply to Thread

Similar Threads

  1. Virtual Directory Problem
    By ercole in forum Cusimano.com Scripts
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: June 15th, 2009, 05:43 PM
  2. Replies: 6
    Last Post: June 10th, 2005, 12:04 PM
  3. Virtual Directory and SSI
    By reaper in forum Cusimano.com Scripts
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: May 23rd, 2005, 06:15 PM
  4. AE: Virtual directory via search?
    By ThatAdamGuy in forum Cusimano.com Scripts
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: June 29th, 2003, 09:07 AM
  5. ae.pl -- PHP Virtual problem
    By rardentech in forum Cusimano.com Scripts
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: June 28th, 2003, 05:55 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •