Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Newbie
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    17
    Hi

    I noticed wwhen the UK Store the site opens the default items are books and the layout of items is different from the other sections.

    How can I change the default content when the site opens and also chnage the lay/presentation of the material.

    Many thanks

    Steven

  2. #2
    ABW Ambassador cusimano's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    1,369
    If there are no parameter specified, Associate Engine will show the default search which is to show the best selling books (i.e.: type=best&mode=books).

    You can change the defualt search by setting the search.default configuration variable. For example:

    search.default "template=stores"

    The above setting will cause the stores index to appear when no search parameters are specified.

    Yours truly,
    Cusimano.Com Corporation
    per: David Cusimano
    Affiliate Tools: Datafeed Merge

  3. #3
    Newbie
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    17
    Thanks David

    This works fine if you use search.default "template=stores-uk"

    Interesting when I tried
    "template=dvd-uk" or any of the other store pages it changed to the relevant page of the store but displayed the book contents.

    Kind regards

    Steven

  4. #4
    ABW Ambassador cusimano's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    1,369
    The template parameter specifies what template to use. It does not specify what to search for. If no search parameters are specified, AE defaults to showing best-selling books.

    To make DVD's appear as the default search, use:

    search.default "type=browse&mode=dvd-uk"

    FYI: In this search.default example, no template parameter is specified and thus AE will automatically look for a template file that corresponds to the mode. Thus the ae-template/dvd-uk.html template file would be used.

    Yours truly,
    Cusimano.Com Corporation
    per: David Cusimano
    Affiliate Tools: Datafeed Merge

  5. #5
    ABW Ambassador cusimano's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    1,369
    You need to re-edit your ae-format/column.html and ae-format/listul.html files. You need to replace all %7B and %7D with { and } respectively. Your HTML editor must have replaced the { and } with %7B and %7D when you edited those files. NOTE: That's a percent symbol % followed by 7 B (and 7 D) characters. It's not the two digits 96.

    For example, in ae-format/column.html, it says:

    <A HREF="%7Bformat.url?y%7D">

    That must be changed back to:

    <A HREF="{format.url?y}">

    Use a plain text editor such as Windows Notepad.

    Yours truly,
    Cusimano.Com Corporation
    per: David Cusimano
    Affiliate Tools: Datafeed Merge

  6. Newsletter Signup

+ Reply to Thread

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: October 13th, 2011, 11:07 AM
  2. Yahoo Store XML to ShareASale-format CSV - Script Needed
    By Geno Prussakov in forum Programming / Datafeeds / Tools
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: June 26th, 2008, 07:11 AM
  3. How to remove page number from bottom of default format list
    By alkenmrs in forum Cusimano.com Scripts
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: October 19th, 2005, 01:59 AM
  4. asinsearch.format and grid list format
    By speedcreed in forum Cusimano.com Scripts
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: August 21st, 2003, 09:50 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •