Hi, Everybody!
I've been lurking for a few days and have enjoyed reading the posts, which have been VERY helpful! I just purchased Associate Engine and am still in the testing stage. I had problems installing it correctly and wonder if anyone has any suggestions. Unfortunately, I'm a career newbie when it comes to this stuff and, even after 6 years, I still find myself struggling with scripts.

Just to give you a little background, I have two businesses on one commercial website, each with its own domain name. The original domain has been dormant for quite awhile, but for sentimental reasons I don't want to part with it. It was for my typing/transcription business, which is mostly local anyways. It is my main domain account and is still active, but it's OLD - frames and everything! Now that I have AE I might be able to breathe some life into it - but that will have to come later.

The second domain points to a store in a subdirectory of the first/main domain (would you call this a subdomain with a subdirectory?). I ran into problems with my major vendor - he dropped me like a hot potato without any notice. I had put all my eggs in one basket and *poof* there went my sales on the bulk of my products in one fell swoop. After an unsuccessful attempt to find a new vendor, I scrambled like mad joining affiliate programs that sold the same products. One of them was a major competitor of the one that dumped me and had a nice affiliate program through cj.com. I changed most of my product pages to affiliate links (by hand, I tell you...no database, no dynamically generated site). I needed to fix my store in a hurry since the holidays are quickly approaching and it is my main source of income. All this while we were being threatened by 4 hurricanes in a matter of six weeks. I am starting to get sales through them so it seems to be working, but my site is still messy and needs a lot of work.