Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Newbie
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    7
    Right now, when I open up my site with AE running along with the BASIC template, it defaults to opening to the Books category.

    What is the best way to change this default to a different category?

    I'd like to be able to change this and was thinking I'd try Electronics or something. Seems like this would be easily changed, but unfortunately I could not find how to do this after reading through AE documentation.

    Thanks,

    Ed

  2. #2
    ABW Ambassador cusimano's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    1,369
    Define the default search by setting search.default in ae.ini

    Yours truly,
    Cusimano.Com Corporation
    per: David Cusimano
    Affiliate Tools: Datafeed Merge

  3. #3
    Newbie
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    7
    Thanks David. I thought I remembered seeing it in the documentation, but just coudln't find it. Guess I totally overlooked it yesterday.

    Worked great. Thanks.

    Ed

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    118
    It seems simple enough, but I have "type=browse&mode=tools" and the default "Home > Books > Formats" page which won't go away as the default. Tried other variations, e.g. "type=browse&mode=dvd" but no go.

    ae.ini is definitely being uploaded to the correct folder. Any suggestion as to where to look for the cause?

    Calling up /cgi-bin/ae.pl?cfg also fails, and I land on the above Formats page.

    Rest of the template works fine.
    [URL=http://www.netmagellan.com/]Net Magellan blog[/URL]

  5. #5
    ABW Ambassador cusimano's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    1,369
    See Verify Loading of Configuration for instructions on how to view the AE Configuration Report.

    If you can't see the problem after looking at the AE Configuration Report then please fill in the support form and let me know your complete ae.pl URL including domain name so I can investigate further.

    Yours truly,
    Cusimano.Com Corporation
    per: David Cusimano
    Affiliate Tools: Datafeed Merge

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    118
    For anyone interested, my problem was that the .htaccess file was conflicting with the .ini file. Only one should specify the default search. I opted for the .htaccess file.

    Great and prompt support from Cusimano Corp.
    [URL=http://www.netmagellan.com/]Net Magellan blog[/URL]

  7. Newsletter Signup

+ Reply to Thread

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 2
    Last Post: February 15th, 2010, 11:06 PM
  2. default (is it just me?)
    By knight01 in forum Midnight Cafe'
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: June 15th, 2009, 02:11 AM
  3. How to change my Default Website while applying for CJ programs
    By Million-Dollar-Baby in forum Commission Junction - CJ
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: February 24th, 2009, 11:38 PM
  4. CJ Will Not Change Javascript Link Default
    By Snowman in forum Commission Junction - CJ
    Replies: 32
    Last Post: August 10th, 2006, 05:03 PM
  5. Default LS ID
    By davidh in forum GoldenCAN
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: July 2nd, 2006, 10:26 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •