Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    80
    re: AE

    Error message: The server is too busy. Try again or click here for amazon.com

    I am using a new host for an installation of ae and getting the above error message.

    Is this a function of the my host or is it an Amazon problem. I've never seen this error before.

    Thanks for any info.
    Richard E. Ward
    [url]www.richardeward.com[/url] [url]www.itjobcoach.com[/url]

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    145
    My guess...

    Do you have the "MaxLoad" parameter specified in the AE.INI file?

    "maxLoad 20 # non-zero=maximum server load then no results; 0=don't check load"

    As a temporary test to see if thats the problem, change that to 0, and re-run the command, if that works, then you'll want to slowly up that setting until you get a happy medium of the script working reliably, and server niceness.

    When switching from one provider to another, (or even one system to another within the same provider) you could go to a more, or less loaded server than the one that you were at before.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    80
    Thanks Joseph,

    I mentioned the problem to my host and they immediately said that they would move me to faster server...which they are doing at this very moment.

    I also checked maxLoad and it is set to 20.

    Once I'm moved I'll see how things go and then start to play around with MaxLoad.

    Floyd, at my new host, has always been responsive to my questions and requests in the past, so I'm impressed with his response now that I've encountered a problem.

    Again, thanks for your help.
    Richard E. Ward
    [url]www.richardeward.com[/url] [url]www.itjobcoach.com[/url]

  4. #4
    ABW Ambassador cusimano's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    1,369
    On a linux server, AE checks the server load (as reported by the server in file /proc/loadavg) and if the 1-minute load average is greater than the number set in the maxload configuration variable, then AE reports "The server is too busy. Try again or click here for amazon.com" and then immediately exists. A load of 20 is fairly high; the server is running a lot of programs. The solutions are: 1) set maxload configuration variable to a higher number, 2) set maxload to 0 to run off checking, 3) move to another server that has less load on it.

    Yours truly,
    Cusimano.Com Corporation
    per: David Cusimano
    Affiliate Tools: Datafeed Merge

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    80
    Thanks David,

    I spent some time reviewing "What optimizations can I do to speed up Associate Engine?" found at http://www.c3scripts.com/amazon/faq-...r.html#license.

    Floyd moved me to a new server and that ended the issue but I also applied some of the optimizations and things fly now.

    Thanks for the follow-up on this matter. Much appreciated.
    Richard E. Ward
    [url]www.richardeward.com[/url] [url]www.itjobcoach.com[/url]

  6. #6
    ABW Ambassador cusimano's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    1,369
    "What optimizations can I do to speed up Associate Engine?"
    http://www.c3scripts.com/amazon/faq-....html#optimize
    Affiliate Tools: Datafeed Merge

  7. Newsletter Signup

+ Reply to Thread

Similar Threads

  1. 'Server is too busy' for msn.com
    By Julian in forum Midnight Cafe'
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: June 9th, 2009, 11:29 AM
  2. Server is too busy error in AE
    By erh777 in forum Cusimano.com Scripts
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: October 5th, 2006, 02:44 PM
  3. Server too busy (constantly?)
    By rubirich in forum Cusimano.com Scripts
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: December 30th, 2005, 12:44 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •