ABW Ambassador
    I just purchased my first vBulletin license and will be setting it up this weekend. I have no experience w/ MySQL, but that's ready to go... So, I guess what I'm asking is, what am I in for? and what's it like working w/ MySQL?
    Thanks!
    -E

Supras | Celicas

lots of scripts (hopefully vbulletin) will set up the mysql tables on their own. Hopefuly you only have to tell it where mysql is and give it permissions.

Let Fear Be Far from All

I don't think you'll get any problems. Everything is explained in the install docs. It should be up and running a couple of minutes after you've uploaded it. [img]/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif[/img]

And they're very helpful on the support forum, if you goof it up somehow. [img]/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif[/img]

Good luck!

ive been using vb for more than a year now and it is very easy to install

you simply upload it and then run the install file, add the php/mysql details that you would enter for any datatbase and hey pressto

if your having problems with it though, please drop me an email and ill do my best to help out

| System 0 | Affiliate-Talk | Affiliate-Review | WebSiteHostingList | [img]/infopop/emoticons/icon_wink.gif[/img]

ABW Ambassador
    cool...thanks everyone... I'm at my j*b right now...bought it on my first break, verified that it went through when I went home for lunch...taking my second break now & will attempt the install tonight...if not, I have all weekend [img]/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif[/img]

Supras | Celicas

ABW Ambassador
    WOW! I don't think they could have made that any easier to set up...even w/ absolutely no experience w/ PHP [img]/infopop/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif[/img]
    (sadly, I didn't even know it was only available in PHP, so I had a little scare...)

But, it's up, it's workin'...I'm just having problems setting permissions for private forums. How do I go about setting a forum so that only certain user groups can see it or enter it?