Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Newbie
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    312
    I found a portal php product called php nuke www.phpnuke.org and I wanted to ask others if they have used it ...

    Marifer Vergara
    Affiliate Manager
    Catalogs.com
    The #1 Source for FREE Catalogs!!
    http://affiliates.catalogs.com
    ICQ: 7171079
    AOL: Marifer006
    MSN: NanaVergara
    Yahoo: maria_maria_s

  2. #2
    Newbie
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    43
    I have it on my site www.shopforsales.com. It is great but there is only 1 problem I dont think google likes it

    Game Mint

  3. #3
    ABW Ambassador parentsworld's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    642
    I use PostNuke at http://portal.parentsworld.com and google loves it so far. I've kept my ranking (bounce between #1 & #2) AND the new indexes have picked up the new pages.

    A woman is like a tea bag: You never know her strength until you drop her in hot water

  4. #4
    Full Member
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    230
    Google thinks phpnuke is God.

    Battling through theifware, keep=no, out of stock items, deactivated merchants and the jungle of great merchants and bad apples to try to make a cent.

    [This message was edited by futuresky on May 24, 2003 at 07:53 PM.]

  5. #5
    http and a telephoto
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    17,708
    Interested uses of phpNuke. I use mine for the community functions to attract people to frequent my sites and use a new weblinks module that has the ablity to add an image to the link to load affiate links from a couple of datafeeds. Site is still under construction, I will try and stop back and show it to you all when it is closer to completion.

    I would be interested in seeing how other folks are using CMS/portal programs for their affiliate sites.

    Deborah Carney
    Cool ~~ Networks

  6. #6
    ABW Ambassador CrazyGuy's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    1,463
    I used postnuke to set up a site for one of my sons and it was on the first page of Google for a relevant search within a couple of days.

    I've since set up a family portal with it.

    Not clear how I would set up a revenue generating site with it though - except for creating a targeted community, letting them create the content and run adsense all over it?


    --------------
    Are you Crazy?

  7. #7
    ABW Ambassador FFoc's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    1,015
    Feel free to check out my Nuke community site - url is in sig..

    --
    "The greatest good you can do for another is not just to share your riches, but to reveal to him his own." – Benjamin Disraeli
    --
    Ford Fox-body Owners Club -- http://www.ford-fox.org

  8. #8
    Affiliate Manager
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    739
    In my recent test I've seen better google action in postnuke than phpnuke- but I like phpnuke - has anyone else seen the same? This is a test with only four sites- so it's not comprehensive

    Jessica Hutson
    Manager of Affiliate Relations/Development
    Interactive Affiliate Network
    http://affiliate.travelnow.com/affiliates/home.jsp

  9. #9
    http and a telephoto
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    17,708
    my phpNuke sites are averaging PR's of 6. I use the WebLinks module with images for links to products, and make a lot of use of blocks for groups of links that are related. It has a newsletter feature that lets you build an opt-in mailing list if that is something you are looking for.

    And, yes, letting people post news helps on a couple of the sites. Others I have the links module in the home page instead of news and use both content pages and messages to add my own content. Lots of merchants are adding content creatives and large creatives that I pop into the nuke content section.

    Drawback - due to hacking issues you can't use certain html code, the ones I run into most in merchant created data are the style tag and. of course, javascript.

    I tend to run phpNuke on the root directory, some sites in the WebLinks module and the rest of the site in other forms in subdirs. Once the Nuke root site is spidered (with all the content pages!) then the subdirs get pretty good attention too.

    I actually am hoping to put up a site soon (got distracted building sites with WebMerge) that will focus on using phpNuke as an income generator. Gotta love 2-tier programs, I don't have a problem teaching others how to make money especially if they sign up as my sub affiliate...

    Love to see some other opinions! I saw a really nice affiliate site using phpNuke when exploring sigs the other night, I am sure there are more than a few folks taking advantage of the features Nuke has to offer.

    Deborah Carney
    Link up!
    Submit your sites, if you fit the criteria
    http://coolcraftsites.com/directory
    http://coolpetsites.com/petlinks

  10. Newsletter Signup

+ Reply to Thread

Similar Threads

  1. PHP question - include(file.php) with variables
    By teezone in forum Programming / Datafeeds / Tools
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: September 4th, 2009, 04:54 PM
  2. PHP-Nuke Question
    By Doug247 in forum Midnight Cafe'
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: June 17th, 2006, 08:11 PM
  3. PHP Nuke Question
    By Doug247 in forum Midnight Cafe'
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: January 17th, 2006, 05:01 PM
  4. Anyone Use Post Nuke or Php Nuke??
    By jimh009 in forum Midnight Cafe'
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: September 26th, 2003, 10:14 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •