Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    545
    When I installed nukePHP on my server I was required to install it in a subfolder and not in the root folder. I would like my index page to be my www.mydomain.com/phpnuke/index.php though.

    Is a 301 in the .htaccess, a good SE safe way to do this?

    TIA

  2. #2
    http and a telephoto
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    17,708
    Why did you have to install it in a subfolder? If you used Power tools or something similar, you could set it to the root directory.
    Deborah Carney
    TeamLoxly.com BookGoodies.com ABCsPlus.com

  3. #3
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    545
    I could have tweaked with it some more, but I didn't. Now it is where it is and I need to redirect to it.

    I know I have seen it done before, but is it safe?

  4. #4
    ABW Ambassador CrazyGuy's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    1,463
    Probably safe - but it will return the status code as 301 and you don't know how that may be interpreted now/in future.

    Perhaps safer would be a mod rewrite rule which would return a 200 OK code but send the visitor to the page you want them to see.

    I'm reluctant to advise on the syntax to use as I always find them a b*gger to get right, but you'll be able to google an answer for "mod rewrite".

  5. #5
    http and a telephoto
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    17,708
    I'm sorry, but if the site is new, and there isn't anything in the root directory already, just move the site to the root. phpNuke is not hard to install. Do you have ftp access? If you do, then all you have to do is move the files from the subdir to the root. The database will not be affected and there aren't any directory specific settings that will need to be changed.

    Also, if you installed it from your host's control panel, you may have a version with security holes and should load the latest version anyway, current version is 7.1. You can download it from several places:
    http://phpnuke.org
    http://nukecops.com
    http://nukescripts.net

    Nuke Cops has excellent support forums and there will be answers to any and all questions you could ever have. And their search function works.
    Deborah Carney
    TeamLoxly.com BookGoodies.com ABCsPlus.com

  6. #6
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    545
    loxly,

    I think that idea is genius! I'll try it. Not sure why I did not think of it. It's my first nuke.

    Now how do I delete the .htaccess with cuteftp. It does not show up in the window. If I had ssh access it wouldn’t be a problem. I hate ftp programs. Anyone know how to handle this? I could just upload an empty .htaccess file I guess.

  7. #7
    http and a telephoto
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    17,708
    load a blank.
    Deborah Carney
    TeamLoxly.com BookGoodies.com ABCsPlus.com

  8. #8
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    545
    Loxly,

    It worked great! (moving whole file system to root web folder)

    I've never used php before, but I'm sold now. If you're going to LV at the end of April I'll buy you a drink at the stardust lounge.

    From what I have read google likes php sites? Is this true?

  9. #9
    http and a telephoto
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    17,708
    Thanks, I don't think I'll be in LV Conflict with another event.

    All my phpNuke sites have an average PR of 5 and the pages are all spidered very nicely.
    Deborah Carney
    TeamLoxly.com BookGoodies.com ABCsPlus.com

  10. #10
    Newbie
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    46
    <BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>I think that idea is genius! I'll try it. Not sure why I did not think of it. It's my first nuke.

    Now how do I delete the .htaccess with cuteftp. It does not show up in the window. If I had ssh access it wouldn’t be a problem. I hate ftp programs. Anyone know how to handle this? I could just upload an empty .htaccess file I guess. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

    You could also try running a custom command in CuteFTP;

    DELE .htaccess

    ..or you may need;

    SITE DELE .htaccess

    (depends on your server).

    Just so you know for the future, as you will more than likely come across it more than once in the years to come

    Cheers

  11. Newsletter Signup

+ Reply to Thread

Similar Threads

  1. Question about 301 redirect and moving blog to domain
    By writerguy in forum Blogging, Mobile and Social Media
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: September 18th, 2008, 09:06 PM
  2. 301 redirect
    By martinsbca in forum WebMerge (Fourthworld.com)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: February 27th, 2007, 05:05 PM
  3. Question About 302's & 301's
    By Potent Mix in forum Midnight Cafe'
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: October 10th, 2006, 02:15 PM
  4. 301 redirect using htaccess question
    By ~Michelle in forum Midnight Cafe'
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: February 26th, 2006, 09:16 PM
  5. What's a "301"
    By Abigail in forum Search Engine Optimization
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: September 18th, 2002, 08:43 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •