Results 1 to 17 of 17
  1. #1
    Newbie
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    591
    I've been trying to get to Linkshare's site for several days and my browser keeps saying "The page you are looking for is currently unavailable. " I'm using IE6.0.26 and connecting via AOL. Is Linkshare down, or is it something else?

    Thanks,
    -CK

  2. #2
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    1,916
    www.linkshare.com is working for me... and has been the last few days as well.

  3. #3
    ABW Ambassador Packy's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Syracuse
    Posts
    4,205
    CK, No problems here at all other than lack of income. :confused: Using IE 5.5 with cable conection

    Have ya tried the backdoor entrance?

    http://ssl.linksynergy.com/php-bin/comm on/login_again.shtml?reason=MANUAL&logoutid=60752&merchaff=&direct=&front_url=http%3A%2F%2Falogin.linksynergy.com%2Fphp- bin%2Faffiliate%2Fhome%2Fshome.shtml

    [ 07-03-2002: Message edited by: GameBoy ]

  4. #4
    Full Member
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    339
    You might want to clear the Browser cache in MSIE and also in AOL.

    I use AOL and AOL's browser and access is OK. Also successful with MSIE 5.5...

    Have you accomplished a cold-boot? Some people always leave ther computers on. Just checking.

    Jim in Texas [img]/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif[/img]

  5. #5
    Newbie
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    591
    I can access linkshare via AOL's browser but not by IE. I have rebooted my computer in the last day or so too. Any other sugestions for accessing it via IE. It doesn't seem like it should be this hard.

    Gameboy - the backdoor link didn't work either.


    Acts like no site exists in IE - I wonder if some of my buyers using IE get the same thing. That would suck.

  6. #6
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    2,082
    This happened to me last week for a few days. I tried cleaning the cache also. Didn't help. Then after a few days everything was back to normal. Well today I can't get there either and like you I use IE5.5 with a dialup from AOL and I can get there using the AOL browser. I always shut down every night so I start out with a cold boot. Very strange.
    Cazzie [img]/infopop/emoticons/icon_wink.gif[/img]

  7. #7
    Newbie
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    2,694
    It's working here. Sounds like a problem with AOL's TCP/IP setup if you can pull it up in the integrated browser but not in IE.

  8. #8
    Newbie
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    591
    <BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by eaglefire:
    It's working here. Sounds like a problem with AOL's TCP/IP setup if you can pull it up in the integrated browser but not in IE.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

    That is exactly my situation. I could try connecting to the internet using a different ISP and see what happens. Still on a dial-up connection here. I will be glad when high-speed internet access is available here. [img]/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif[/img]

    I have the same problem with netsol.com too. Linkshare and Netsol are the only 2 sites that I can't seem to get to with MSIE. AOL's intergrated browser opens these sites with no problem.

  9. #9
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    1,916
    Still no problems here. Using IE. Not using AOL.. and wouldn't dream of it.

    Good Luck.

  10. #10
    ABW Ambassador buy_online's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Richmond, VA
    Posts
    3,234
    There were originally problems with the IE6 platform, when used with many sites and cookies. This was supposed to have been rectified (but then again - it's Microsoft)!

    Try installing IE 5.5 (after removing 6.0xx), the added functionality of 6.0 ain't squat (good English again), so 5.5 is where you may want to be. I believe 5.5 is still available from Microsoft.

    I would also encourage you to use Opera, it is awesome. Also the latest (and only the latest) mozilla is supposed to be quite complete.

    Sorry to be ninth or something in line of advice (everybody before me had intelligent suggestions too). Hope this helps.

    Fred

  11. #11
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    2,082
    I managed to get to Linkshare tonite. I use IE5.5 so I don't think it matters which version you use. I think the problem lies with AOL
    Cazzie [img]/infopop/emoticons/icon_wink.gif[/img]

  12. #12
    Full Member
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    339
    I don't know if LinkShare requires that Cookies be enabled, or java enabled for browsers. These two things may be a problem area.

    Another could be the security level set in IE 6. Just guessing at this point since I don't have IE 6.

    Netscape 6.2 accesses it fine, also. I have it downloaded to test out my site.

    I hate bugs like that! :confused:

    Good Luck...

    Jim in Texas [img]/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif[/img]

  13. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    80
    Had same problem. My solution was to use secondary DNS server as primary. My guess is that maybe Linkshare is up to something (DNS Changes maybe)? Curious to know why. Anyone know?

  14. #14
    Newbie
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    591
    Ok, I can get to linkshare using IE6.0 if I connect to the internet using a different ISP. If I use AOL, I can get to linkshare if I use AOL's integrated browser.
    I can't get to linkshare if I connect with AOL and use IE6.0

    Anyway to fix this other that not using AOL or not using IE6.0?

  15. #15
    ABW Ambassador Packy's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Syracuse
    Posts
    4,205
    CK, If your stats are looking anything like mine for the month, $5.00 I wouldn't worry about connecting. <IMG src=http://www.abestweb.com/ubb/icons/icon9.gif>

    I guess this doesn't answer your question huh. Just needed to Vent! <IMG src=http://www.abestweb.com/ubb/icons/icon38.gif>

  16. #16
    Newbie
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    591
    There wasn't a pot a gold waiting for me when I finally got in, but there are a couple merchants there that I wanted to add for a new page.

    Opera works, IE6.0 works if not using AOL, Other Browsers seem to work with AOL. The combination that doesn't work is AOL with IE6.0

    Seems like that would be a fairly common combination.

  17. #17
    ABW Ambassador LinkShare Moderator's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    1,316
    Hi All,

    Thank you all for your time and help in tracing the nature of this problem. I have passed along your findings to our technical team to investigate further on our end, and I will let you know when I have more information on this issue.

    Thanks,
    Sarah

  18. Newsletter Signup

+ Reply to Thread

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: March 14th, 2007, 04:54 AM
  2. Replies: 13
    Last Post: October 24th, 2004, 03:07 PM
  3. Replies: 2
    Last Post: July 29th, 2004, 06:14 PM
  4. Linkshare: I make sale - Linkshare puts me in HOLE
    By cyclone in forum Rakuten LinkShare - LS
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: May 16th, 2003, 10:28 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •