Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Newbie
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    11
    I posted something about a week ago to the effect that whenever I go to cj.com I get a "page not found" error.

    I did a NeoTrace and it says:

    "This IP address is a test loopback address. Any network traffic is directed back to the source computer. It is a reserved address used as a mechanism to test the computer's own basic network setup"

    I had a cheap ISP recently, and thought it may be that, but I switch to an Earthlink account and I'm still getting the same message.

    I use google toolbar to block pop-ups but my girlfriend has the same set-up and gets through just fine.

    I also use zone-alarm firewall, but have turned it off.

    This is all I can think of, and I'm getting kind of desperate

    Oh and by the way, I just tested Linkshare as well and that is also a 404. These are the only 2 site that I've had trouble with...really strange.

    Thanks in advance,

    Uzttzu

  2. #2
    ABW Ambassador Nova's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    home
    Posts
    2,395
    I wish I can help you!

    But I'm sure someone will come along and be the good guy here!

    Come on guys help this fellow member now!

    I have the same problem with Performics couple of days ago.

    I cleaned up my cache, cookies, temp files and reboot and still didn't change.

    MY husband check the clock and it was couple of days behind. got it update and I been able to connect with Perfs.

    Good luck

    ------------------------------
    What does the COC stand for? Crooks Overwriting Commissions.
    Don't worry! Tracking is infected!
    ------------------------------
    Love Life to the fullest. we only get ONE chance! :-) !

  3. #3
    Member hooligan's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    68
    Sounds like you have "kazaa lite" installed on your system. Go to doxdesk.com for removal instructions, clean up your host file and you'll be good to go.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Montreal
    Posts
    68
    You probably installed Kazaa Lite or some advertising blocking tool. Look for the file 'hosts' in either c:\windows\ or c:\windows\system32\drivers\etc\. Edit the file in notepad and find and remove the line that says "127.0.0.1 www.cj.com". Then it should work perfectly.

  5. #5
    Newbie
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    11
    I do have Kaza Lite installed. I'll uninstall it immediately and let you know.

  6. #6
    Newbie
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    11
    I unisntalled Kaza, but I can't find the Hosts file. I've serched for it, and I can't find it. Is it possible to add this file somewhere?

    uzttzu

  7. #7
    Newbie
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    11
    I take that back, I just found the "Hosts" file. This doesn't look like something I want on my computer. Can I erase this or do I just clean it up? If I need to clean it up, what do I delete?

    Thanks again

  8. #8
    Newbie
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    11
    quote:
    Originally posted by uzttzu:
    I take that back, I just found the "Hosts" file. This doesn't look like something I want on my computer. Can I erase this or do I just clean it up? If I need to clean it up, what do I delete?

    Thanks again

  9. #9
    Newbie
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    11
    Thanks everyone!

    I just cleaned up the "Hosts" file and deleted all of the Kazaa related stuff and now I can access CJ.com

    I hope this solves other peoples problems as well.

    Best regards,

    uzttzu

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    95
    Now if we could just clean up the (millions of) other computers that have it we might start to make some sales.

    Compare prices and features of over 100 different web hosting plans. http://www.IceIsHot.com

  11. Newsletter Signup

+ Reply to Thread

Similar Threads

  1. Junk sites linking to your site with wrong URL (404 Errors in GWT)
    By kse in forum Search Engine Optimization
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: April 24th, 2012, 10:33 AM
  2. Swarovski feed - 404 errors
    By KarenVarecka in forum Affiliate Window - AW
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: September 22nd, 2010, 10:01 AM
  3. creative 404 errors
    By Electropulse in forum Midnight Cafe'
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: June 7th, 2003, 08:12 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •