Anyone out there know of some relatively easy ways to increase google "page rank"?

I'm not talking about rank for specific key words in google, but rather google's "page rank" for a specific page. If you have played with google's advanced tool bar, you will know what I'm talking about.

Ofcourse, I have some ideas, but want to be careful that I don't piss off the googlebot. [img]/infopop/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif[/img]

If you have good content, e-mail webmasters with related sites and request a link.

If you want to improve your chances, let the webmasters know that you have linked to them first on a Links page.

Also, I am a dmoz editor, and I put all of my sites in my bookmarks. It's a PageRank of 5.

ABW Ambassador
    Peter,

I submitted a site dmoz.org recently and the editor still hasn't listed it. How long does it normally take? Will they email me a confirmation?

Hey Peter Kirby,
    Do you put only your sites that are relevant to your categories in your bookmarks? My category is tiny and not relevant to any of my sales sites. And do you link only to the site or to separate pages? Oh, my this is the juiciest new tidbit in a while!

TIA,
    webmistress

Thanks Peter.

I used to do that, but have been slacking lately and many of the sites I have traded links with no longer exist. I suppose it's time to get back at it again.

Would posting links in message boards and guest books help too (posting in ones that google already indexes ofcourse).

I think you need to try and get links on pages that have a decent page rank. If a links page has a page rank of 1, then that link isn't going to be as valuable as a link from a page with a page rank of 5.

I suppose I can hunt down related sites with links pages with decent page rank and then try and trade with those.

Resident Genius and Staunch Capitalist Leader's Avatar
    Peter...

1st, do you mean a bookmark equals a link with a site with a PageRank of 5?