Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    ABW Ambassador
    Most of you know that I'm new to the ecommerce site biz (not to the site biz), so I'm looking for thoughts from those who have been doing this awhile...

Can you live without Overture?

Thinking I had their formula nailed, I submitted some more search terms -- 7 out of 8 were denied. Why? On one (a site with multiple suppliers for one product), I left the name of one supplier off (oversight on my part, I generally do mention the supplier). Apparently (at least by this reviewer), the supplier names are required.

The other six? The URL was accepted (and one search term). What was the deal with the ones that were denied? Well, I had numerous merchants, all with their names clearly stated, so that wasn't it.

What it was -- say it was a Widget page, telling you all the places you could get different widgets -- red ones, plastic ones, electronic ones. One supplier for each type.

It's okay for that kind of page to have the search term "widget merchandise", but not "electronic widgets" -- back to the one supplier thing.

To be frank, I spent way too much time hunting out an obscure (yet profitable product) where I could afford the bids on Overture. After this experience, I can't see doing it again (I'm tempted to up my bids on the ones I do have, just to meet the $20 minimum).

I know Overture is more attractive with the new Yahoo! connection... but is required for survival?

Cedric,

Overture is looking for "content" sites now and not "affiliate" sites or "link farms". This doesn't mean you can't link to a CJ merchant, it just means that there needs to be another purpose of your page.