I use Google Adwords Select (GAS) and also have regular free Google listings for several keywords. I've noticed something interesting recently...

It seems that my free listing for keyword 'A' ranks higher than my free listing for a similar keyword 'B' if keyword 'A' is used in my GAS account.

I know there are numerous factors that affect a Google ranking, and I'm no SEO expert -- it could just be coincidence. However, based on my knowledge of the factors that do come into play, it seems that keyword 'B' should have just as high or higher a ranking as keyword 'A'.

While this scenario doesn't hold true with all or even the majority of my keywords, it has been the case with enough of my keywords to get my attention. I would need to do some testing to see if the theory has any merit. To get a really good read, it would be interesting to see what would happen if I dropped a keyword from GAS... would that affect my free ranking for that keyword?

Problem is, to do this test I'll lose a couple of days of GAS clicks while I wait for Google to update my site. And I really don't want to lose those clicks at this time.

Is it possible that Google is quietly washing our hands if we wash their backs? [img]/infopop/emoticons/icon_confused.gif[/img] [img]/infopop/emoticons/icon_confused.gif[/img]

ABW Ambassador
    I'd bet my bottom dollar (which isn't too too far down in the pile [img]/infopop/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif[/img]) that your google rankings willl not be affected in any way or manner by use or non-use of Adwords.

Why bid on terms that you already rank well for?

All around the mulberry bush the monkey chased the weasel

ABW Ambassador
    Then don't waste your money. Adwords has no effect on the algo whatsoever.

Search Engine Positioning - 1 Design 4 Life

Noway their PPC will affect Google SERPS ...