We've been pumping cash into ppc se advertising for awhile and would like to take a crack at getting some of the more popular keywords listed for FREE.

Bass Ackwards... I know. My background is in sales and advertising and not so much web development.

Is this a good plan;

Using the tips and tricks found on ABW, create doorway pages specifically designed for certain keyword/keyword phrases.

Create a URL related to scooter-review, submit it to non-commercial search engine listing services... once accepted link to our products, slap our banners all over it and list it as sponsored by UrbanScooters.com.

Create a URL related to scooter-safety... then do the same as above.

Once we get our feet wet hire Markymark to teach us how to really do it.

Suggestions... ideas... what do you think? Is any of the above considered unethical? We're brand spankin' new to this.

Thanks,

Frank
    UrbanScooters.com
    UrbanScooters.com Affiliate Program

Why don't you leave that to us and focus on selling scooters?

Fun aside; Yes you can pick up some strategies from ABW, not all legitimate, and implement them. Very smart people here, so most of them those strategies work very well.

But, some of them, like "doorway pages" are licence for SE to ban your site(s). So you have to be careful.

Markymark will correct me if I'm wrong, I'm sure:

Frank, a merchant site should have no trouble being accepted into DMOZ in the right category and if the site is quality. It's affiliate sites that are problematic.

To get into Zeal, you'd need a non-commercial site, so one of your ideas about a review site or other content might be good to go on that idea.

What SamBay said about "doorway pages".