Hello -

I am working on completing my first site, I am brand new at this, but have READ an awful lot on it.

One questions I have : My site is content rich, with some very useful information. Does it behoove me to leave out all affiliate links for now, and submit the site to DMOZ without any affiliate links thus giving me a better chance to get in there?

No telling how long DMOZ would take to list my site, and in the meantime my SEO'd site is sitting there with no affiliate links. Is getting into DMOZ that important (remember this is my first site and I have no other sites with a PR ranking to link to) for at least my first site?

ABW Ambassador
    The high Google PR from A DMOZ link is nice.

If you have content that "adds value to the directory", then you stand a good chance of getting in.

ABW Ambassador
    Hard to say. If it is already ranking high in the search engines and making good money, then maybe you should leave it.

There is a contingent on ABW who say they do very well without DMOZ listings.

Opposite the Slough of Despond
    True, but a DMOZ listing is always a help and for a content site its the best way to go.

Affiliate links do not disqualify a site. The editor's guidelines say:

<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Look at the content on the site, mentally blocking out all affiliate links. If the remaining information is original and valuable informational content that contributes something unique to the category's subject, the site may be a good candidate for the ODP.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>
    Not all editors understand that, and in a small number of cases editors may reject the site if they see affiliate links.