I've been reading lots of negative remarks here and there about the 3 large affiliate programs. I'm EXTREMELY new to all of this and was wondering why (it seems) that many affiliates don't like them. Do they rip affiliates off? What's the scoop?

Twinky

ABW Ambassador
    Think merchant, not network. There are great ones in all the networks and great independents. You just have to find the ones that work for you.

ohhh
    so...its the merchants in the big 3 that tick people off? Or what the merchants in the big three get away with doing?

Twink

ABW Ambassador
    No, what i meant is that there are certain affiliates (shopping applications and/or affiliates other affiliates would call "parasites") in each network. People would like for the networks to kick them out. Problem is that won't ever happen and if they did, the parasites and merchants can still work together. There are merchants in those networks that choose to partner with them. There are merchants that choose not to. What i meant by think merchant, not network is just look for good merchants. There are good merchants in all the networks.

ABW Ambassador
    There are good merchants in all the networks.

Ohhhh
    I get it...
    Thanks for explaining. !

Twink

quote:
    Originally posted by TrustNo1®:
    No, what i meant is that there are certain affiliates (shopping applications and/or affiliates other affiliates would call "parasites") in each network. People would like for the networks to kick them out. Problem is that won't ever happen and if they did, the parasites and merchants can still work together. There are merchants in those networks that choose to partner with them. There are merchants that choose not to. What i meant by think merchant, not network is just look for good merchants. There are good merchants in all the networks.

and parasites