Hi. There is a domain I want and it has been vacant -- just a place holder page. I went and checked it again and now there is a page for "Dotcom agency" saying they will sell the site.

I wrote asking how much but have not heard back from them. I have never done this before and have no idea on what to expect. The reason I want the site is that it is similar to my current domain name.

About how much does it usually cost to buy a domain? How does the transfer take place? If you give them the money, how to be sure they will transferr it? How much would you offer on jellyjar.com?

Any advice would be apprechiated!!!

Vicki [img]/infopop/emoticons/icon_wink.gif[/img]

At the risk of sound desparate for my 15% commission, this is the whole point of Snapnames [img]/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif[/img] It's just been renewed, so it's likely Snapnames could have got it for you for $69.

Yes, it would be a good doamin for you to have, but the art of negotiation is to look like you don't really want it.. so you don't want to let them know that you own JelleyJar.com else the price will magically go up! SO don't email him from your domain, use something else that can't be traced to the domain.

It looks like the owner, [check out the deails on allwhois.com] is a speculator and he certainly owns other names, but he may be interested in a quick sale.

Alternatively, look it up in a years time and see if it's renewed, and if not, use Snapnames to secure it.

Another alternative is to register jellyjar.info or jellyjar.biz.

The technical answer to the query is.. most brokers and agents operate an escrow system where they act as the intermediary, handling the payment and transferring the domain name. I've never heard of dotcomagency, but I suppose they work the same way.

You can check out the valuation at Shoutloud.com but they're estimating it at the pricey end.