View Poll Results: More than one host poll?

Voters
21. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes, I have more than one host for that reason exactly.

    6 28.57%
  • No, I have all my sites on one account, nothing to worry about.

    6 28.57%
  • Yes, but for another reason (specify?).

    9 42.86%
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    ABW Ambassador affiliatemakeover's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Cleveland, OH
    Posts
    821
    Do you have more than one host for your sites?

    (Example: you have 50 websites, do you have 25 of them at a different host, with an obviously different IP to avoid penalty chances?)

    __________________
    Jim Kukral
    Direct of Emarketing/Brand Manager
    KowaBunga! Technologies
    http://www.kowabunga.net

  2. #2
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    1,797
    I use more than one host, mainly to ensure that if one server goes down, all my sites don't go along with it. Also, because I host UK targeted stuff in the UK so that Google can recognise a .com as a UK site by IP.

    Search Engine Positioning - 1 Design 4 Life

  3. #3
    ABW Veteran Student Heyder's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    5,482
    I was previously on about six different multi website hosting accounts. Recently I built my own server and was given a deal with my employer to run it on their system for almost no cost. I have all the benies of UPS, 24hr monitoring, daily back-ups both through Cron and to my own workstation. So I decided to host all of my sites there to save some money and learn more about servers. So far I've noticed no changes with the search engines to speak of for the last seven months.

    As many people know IP#'s are running short these days. I'm sure search engines know they have to respect the problem or there's going to be trouble in the near future as people aren't able to get an ip.

  4. #4
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    1,916
    I have a few cabinets of servers in various places, and a few other servers here and there.

  5. #5
    ABW Adviser Panel Dynamoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Opposite the Slough of Despond
    Posts
    5,465
    One of my hosting accounts has Unix shell access which makes it more expensive, the others are a bulk reseller account except one I host with TH Media to bring it out of the subnet.

    ________
    All your commission are belong to us.
    Check out the latest Homeland Security press releases.

  6. #6
    Full Member
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    373
    I have two servers at one host. My servers needed a direct connection to eachother, that's why

  7. #7
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    1,916
    All of mine have shell access..oh wait...

  8. Newsletter Signup

+ Reply to Thread

Similar Threads

  1. To Host or Not To Host? ...that is the question.
    By maxwellgarner in forum Marketing Resources & Power Tools
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: August 1st, 2010, 01:40 AM
  2. Virtual Host > Dedicated Host
    By Tami in forum Domains & Hosting
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: March 21st, 2005, 09:27 AM
  3. Please take my poll
    By marifer006 in forum Voting Booth
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: March 8th, 2004, 07:06 PM
  4. poll?
    By jc101 in forum Virtual Family and Off-Topic
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: November 7th, 2002, 08:28 AM
  5. Poll
    By Haiko de Poel, Jr. in forum Midnight Cafe'
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: March 14th, 2002, 07:03 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •