Hello everyone and Happy New Year - this is my first post on this site and I'm fairly new to affiliate marketing so don't shoot me down if I'm talking rubbish!

I notice many people mention that they get a high percentage of reversals on Zappos - I do too but isn't that to be expected given that the free shipping and returns policy? I assumed that people may buy the same shoe in say two sizes and then send a pair back. I guess what I would like to know is that if someone does send one pair back, does the whole sale get reversed or do we still get credited with commission for the one pair that may be kept?

They are supposed to give credit for the shoes kept.

SandraR

I have had quite a few partial reversals.

For me, they seem to reverse about 35% of sales. It usually falls approximately on the 10th of the month. It is always a sad day.

I started getting Zappos sale in mid October and my first reversals came through in December, they were at about 16% (value) of 106 sales, which gave me an effective commission of 12.5%.

Expecting a higher level in January with Christmas presents being returned, but even a 35% return level gives an effective rate of 9.75%.

It's a case of monitor it carefully and keep an eye on what the competitors are doing.

There's been quite a few exceptional reversal rates published here for Zappos, 100%, 50% etc. but without any indication of the numbers involved. I hoping that my 106 sales has some (lasting!) statistical significance for my particular site and sales.

ABW Ambassador
    Paul - having only 16% returned is virtually unheard of with Zappos. Don't count on that happening ever again. Zappos is usually in the 30% ish return area and some have reported (in some months) up to 40% here at Abest.