Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    94
    I recently began switching all my BeFree ebay links over to CJ because of the merger. I noticed as I was testing some of the links, in the status bar I'll see http://adfarm.mediaplex.com........going by before the browser finally ends up on an ebay page.

    Does anyone know what this is? It this something I need to be concerned about, or is this just the way it is supposed to go?

    Thanks in advance for any responses.

    Bombalini

  2. #2
    Full Member
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    427
    Hi, mediaplex is a Valueclick company and handles all of the ad serving for their network, which includes befree. Check it out here...http://www.mediaplex.com/

    Evan Weber, Director of Marketing
    DentalPlans.com, Inc.
    Earn $50 per sale with one of the best converting offers online! [/b]
    954-923-1487 ext. 105
    evan@dentalplanscorp.com

  3. #3
    ABW Ambassador Nature Boy's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    1,423
    I saw the same thing with some of mine. I think this is caused by inserting some type of SSI or a variable.

    I got it when I tried inserting a time field into the link. On the local computer, I got the mediaplex stuff, but when I loaded it onto the site, viola! the link worked like normal.

    -----------------------------
    Scott

    Have a nice day unless you have other plans

  4. #4
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    4,423
    To the best of my knowledge, they have always run thru mediaplex, at least for a year.

    Chet

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    94
    Thanks for all the replies. I was afraid I had a problem with parasites or something.

    Bombalini

  6. #6
    I like traffic lights
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Southern hemisphere - away from Fukushima
    Posts
    2,936
    Yes, at least a year.

    This is a big problem for eBay, as mediaplex is in the KazaaLite poisoned hosts file (among others).

    So even if CJ manages to migrate to another click domain, the traffic will still stop dead at mediaplex.

    And since eBay even use mediaplex URL for internal links, in must be terribly confuing for eBay users that unknowingly have a PHF.

    One would hope that, with about 10% of the computers out there having a PHF, that while they migrate from BF to CJ, that they also use the chance to fix the CJ and Mediaplex PHF problem. Three birds with one stone, etc.

    ****************************
    Jimmy James Inc. fan club membership # 3312

    "But Jimmy had fancy plans, and pants to match"

  7. #7
    ABW Ambassador Andy's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    4,178
    With Norton Ad Blocker on, it's difficult to navigate eBay's site. Links to certain sections don't appear.

    I'm really surprised big companies are putting up with this. How much business are they losing because of this?

    Andy

    _______________
    Call the Exterminators! We've Got PARASITES!

  8. Newsletter Signup

+ Reply to Thread

Similar Threads

  1. Ebay Question/Ebay Stores and Editor Kit
    By Trust in forum Commission Junction - CJ
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: February 24th, 2008, 07:55 PM
  2. Ebay question
    By fg20878 in forum Commission Junction - CJ
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: January 22nd, 2006, 07:07 AM
  3. Ebay question
    By fg20878 in forum Commission Junction - CJ
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: September 21st, 2005, 05:19 PM
  4. Ebay Question?
    By Infoseeker in forum Commission Junction - CJ
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: June 15th, 2005, 04:14 PM
  5. I am new to CJ and have a question about eBay
    By starling in forum Commission Junction - CJ
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: March 4th, 2005, 04:10 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •