View Poll Results: The amount of shared profit - for merchants

Voters
15. You may not vote on this poll
  • affiliates get only a tiny portion of profit

3 20.00%
  • affiliates get less than half of the profit

7 46.67%
  • affiliates get as much as we do (split half and half)

2 13.33%
  • affiliates get the larger part of the profit

3 20.00%
  • affiliates get most of our profit

0 0%
    Who gets a bigger cut of the profit on an average order?
    I'm talking after all expenses.

Konstantin,
    www.GenericGifts.com

Im not an expert, but Im not understanding your poll. I am under the impression that the affiliate is an expense for the merchant, thus the affiliate recieves no portion of the profit. An affiliate can be deemed easily as an independent sales representative under the pay for performance model.

So if I can lend an example, i.e. AVON deploys several independent sales representatives, and pay them a commission, but the sales representative does not share in the profit as the sale rep is considered an expense.

Perhaps Im off here...but I dont think so.

Bradley Professional Business Services
    P.O. Box 8413
    New Haven, Connecticut 06530

Well, what I meant is how much of your profit goes to affiliates.
    Basically, if your average order is $100 and your profit margin is 20% and your affiliates get 10% commission. That would mean you pay affiliates as much as you make yourself.

Like your total profit for the $100 order is
    $100x0.2=$20
    And you pay your affiliate
    $100x0.1=$10

So you are left with $10 of net profit while paying $10 to the affiliate who helped to make the sale.

Konstantin,
    www.GenericGifts.com

Again, perhaps there is a termonology issue going on in this post- but using your example-

If I am a merchant and selling an item for $100.00 and paying the affiliate a commission of 10% this is how it would go.

100 sale
    050 cost of good sold
    010 affiliate commission
    ___
    040 Profit going to merchant