View Poll Results: Who's best at hosting affiliate marketing websites?

Voters
5. You may not vote on this poll
  • Don't know

3 60.00%
  • Fill in the Blank (preferred)

2 40.00%
    I have a long history in designing websites. I only recently gained an interest in marketing on the internet and did some experimentation. Instead of designing my own site, I developed a niche content site using Site Build It so I could get experience with newsletters, etc. It's a nice package, but even with the new features, it's way too cumbersome for the ideas I have.

Given that I'm a programmer (and pretty comfortable with databases, scripting and HTML), what should I be looking for to host an affilitate marketing oriented site? Who do you use and why?

Here's what I think I need:
    1. Database - for product content and/or to manage my affiliate relationships.
    2. Front Page/ASP Support
    3. Newsletter management, autoresponders
    4. Search engine submission? Pay per Click management?
    5. Email accounts / web interface

I could add features of Site Build It as wish list items, but they have them at the expense of ease of use. What am I missing? Where can I find a good host? TIA!

Regards,
    MikeB

Wow, this must be a closely guarded secret.

Regards,
    MikeB

Well um what's your question again?

I see you're looking for ASP and database support. I assume you would be looking for MS SQL Server?

That's going to push the price up by quite a bit, and make it much more difficult to find a multi-domain virtual hoster. You will probably have to rent a box and pay for the MS licenses on it to get what you are looking for.

I had a similar dilemna - and eventually decided to move over to PHP and MySQL which is available on tons of hosts. Not only cheaper, but if a hosting service starts to fall off in service, it's very easy to find a suitable replacement.

L4

Everywhere you go, leave someone or something better than you found it.