Hi , i know this question might be silly for many of the affiliates who are veterans. I would want to know what does the 3 month EPC and a 7 day EPC signify about a merchant. In what way does this statistic help an affiliate choose an appropriate merchant? I am new to this concept , so i am getting confused.Kindly help

It measures the amount of money they have paid out per 100 clicks received from affiliates.

example: 2 sales result from you sending them 100 visitors. You get paid $3.00 per sale earning yourself $6.00. Your epc is six dollars. The merchants epc is the same but they are averaged by all of their affiliates.

It's up to you to decide if you think epc is all that important or not. There's plenty of arguement both ways on it.

Internet Cowboy
    It also shows a trend.
    If a site was doing very well, then changed something and now sales are suffering as a result of the change, that is reflected in the difference between 3 month and 7 day EPC.
    Inversely, if the site is hot now due to new mdse. or whatever, you see that too.

SHerley,

A couple of other things to keep an eye on with the EPC.

*Look for consistancy in the 3mo and 7day EPC - Sometimes you may see a big difference in 3 mo and 7 day EPC where the 7 day EPC is higher. In some instances but not all that may mean that the merchant has a high reversal rate.

On another note you may see the 3mo alot higher than the 7day. In some instances the merchant could be a seasonal merchant and right now isn't the season for the particular merchant meaning the merchant performs during the season when their products are popular.

Another factor could be that the merchant batches sales, meaning they don't upload transactions daily but maybe every couple of weeks or once a month. In that case they may show a low or even zero 7 day EPC but a high 3 month EPC.