Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    1,205
    Can I arbitrarily put SID's in my CJ URLs, or do they need to be registered with CJ?

    Can I just start making my URLs look like this:

    http://www.qksrv.net/click-xxxxxxxx-xxxxxxxx?url=http://www.merchant.com/product.html&sid=SITE-12
    without registering them in CJ's system?

    Thanks in advance.
    Dr. Strangeweb, or how I learned how to stop worrying about SERPS and love the WOM.

  2. #2
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    1,026
    Yes.

    Just make sure you have less or equal number of characters allowed as a SID.

    CJ SID is not same as Art.com's, so no registration is required.

  3. #3
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    1,205
    Cool, thanks!
    Dr. Strangeweb, or how I learned how to stop worrying about SERPS and love the WOM.

  4. #4
    Ad Network Rep ToddCrawford's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Santa Barbara, CA
    Posts
    2,162
    Please make sure you use the SID feature correctly.

    Example of link tracking code with SID:

    <a href="http://www.qksrv.net/click-XXXXXXX-XXXXXXX?SID=ShopperID_Value">Click Here</a><img src="http://www.qksrv.net/click-XXXXXXX-XXXXXXX" height=1 width=1 border=0>

    Example of (Publisher) SmartZone tracking code with SID"

    <SCRIPT LANGUAGE="javascript" src="http://sz.track4.com/le-4k?SID=ShopperID_Value”> </SCRIPT>
    Todd Crawford
    Co-Founder, Impact Radius

    Give me a minute before I post again

  5. #5
    I like traffic lights
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Southern hemisphere - away from Fukushima
    Posts
    2,936
    don't use hyphens in the SID. CK uses hyphens to delimit the cookie - your hyphen will be encoded (which bloats things) and sometimes your SID field on the transaction will be full oin encoding characters and like 100's of characters long. Avoid hyphens.

  6. #6
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    1,205
    quote:
    Originally posted by ToddCrawford, CJ.com:
    Please make sure you use the SID feature correctly.

    Example of link tracking code with SID:

    Click Here<img src="http://www.qksrv.net/click-XXXXXXX-XXXXXXX" height=1 width=1 border=0>

    Example of (Publisher) SmartZone tracking code with SID"

    <SCRIPT LANGUAGE="javascript" src="http://sz.track4.com/le-4k?SID=ShopperID_Value”> </SCRIPT>
    That's even better, thanks!
    Dr. Strangeweb, or how I learned how to stop worrying about SERPS and love the WOM.

  7. Newsletter Signup

+ Reply to Thread

Similar Threads

  1. CJ mail system not working?
    By La_Valette in forum Commission Junction - CJ
    Replies: 31
    Last Post: February 24th, 2010, 08:43 PM
  2. Test System - Now not working
    By fudge in forum ShareASale - SAS
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: August 4th, 2003, 10:43 AM
  3. Question concerning advanced linking - sid
    By bigchuck in forum Commission Junction - CJ
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: July 4th, 2003, 01:46 PM
  4. Todd - SID question please
    By futuresky in forum Commission Junction - CJ
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: December 14th, 2002, 09:46 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •