Just wanted to congratulate CJ for doing the right thing:

There is a BeFree merchant that I have been sending adwords clicks to for about 18 months. Over time my commissions and clicks appeared to be dropping even though I thought I was still paying the same for the adwords so I investigated further.

It turned out that when I started promoting the merchant all my clicks were making it through to the merchant, but 18 months later that figure was down to 80%.

In other words 20% off all the clicks on a google adword for that merchant weren't making it as far as BeFree tracking (the adwords link URL was direct to BeFree), someone or something must have been intercepting those clicks.

Now some people would think 20%, oh well there's nothing I can do about that, at least I still get 80%, but I looked to see what it had cost me:

It had cost me over $3000 to Google Adwords for clicks that I never received, and about another $7000 in commission I would typically have received on those clicks, for a total loss to me of $10000.

This redirection was costing the merchant a lot more than that as whatever was intercepting the clicks was doing it based upon a BeFree link to that merchant, so possibly 20% of all that merchants affiliate program sales were getting credited to these intercepters rather than the correct affiliate. If the intercepters were also catching direct links and type-ins to that merchant then the cost to the merchant would have been massive (given the merchants total revenues it may have been costing them over a million in extra commissions per year).

I brought this redirection to CJ's attention at the end of September and they promised to investigate. I heard back from them last week that they had investigated and discovered a number of non-compliant BHOs and disabled them.

I am now seeing 100% of my clicks making it to the merchant again.

Congrats to CJ for doing the right thing.