Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 32
  1. #1
    ABW Adviser Panel Dynamoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Opposite the Slough of Despond
    Posts
    5,465
    A *big* caveat about this application.. this is just a copy and paste of another post I made but I think it's appropriate here...

    Well I downloaded it and tested it after Haiko's recommendation, and it found..

    NewsUpd.exe - Creative Labs spyware (ZoneAlarm had already picked this up)
    NetZip - Real/Netscape spyware-compromised download tool (don't use it)

    But it also came up with some false positives:

    Hack'a'tack wrongly diagnosed as being in cfgwiz32.exe (a Microsoft ISDN config tool included in the Win 98 distro).
    Spector and Ghostkey, both keyloggers, wrongly diagnosed as being in iamdb.rdb, which is a ZoneAlarm configuration file.

    The second one is a serious misdiagnosis as deleting the iamdb.rdb file will bady impact ZoneAlarm.

    OK, it had picked up two things that AdAware hadn't, but the two false positives are worrying.

    I think "use with caution" would be my advice.

    Меня зовут Динаму

  2. #2
    ABW Ambassador mousejockey's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    2,494
    Thanks Dynamoo;)
    I've downloaded but haven't installed yet.
    I run AVG, Zonealarm & adaware with regular checkouts at gibson research and don't want to upset the applecart...touch wood they've been great.

    "I haven't failed, I've just found 10,000 reasons why it doesn't work"
    Thomas Edison

  3. #3
    Full Member
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    315
    I downloaded it and it found Aurate, NetZip and Surf+. Now how do I get rid of them? I can't find them when I run a search of the hard drive. Does Aluria's Spyware eliminate them?

    Nevermind...I figured it out [img]/infopop/emoticons/icon_rolleyes.gif[/img]

    ---Hershey

    "Wherever you go, there you are."

  4. #4
    ABW Founder Haiko de Poel, Jr.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    21,609
    Moo,

    I have alerted Aluria about the "false positives" and will post what they say.

    <font size="2" face="Verdana">Haiko


    The secret of success is constancy of purpose. ~ Disraeli
    </font></p>

  5. #5
    ABW Adviser Panel Dynamoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Opposite the Slough of Despond
    Posts
    5,465
    Wow.. I got a response from that to say that they've posted a bugfix already.

    I *like* these people [img]/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif[/img]

    Меня зовут Динаму

  6. #6
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    January 17th, 2005
    Posts
    530
    WOW, i just downloaded the trial edition of
    SpyEliminator, and it found ZERO spyware on
    my computer, and I don't even have a virus
    program on my computer. I do not have activeX
    enabled, which is where I think most of this
    crap comes from. If you want to eliminate
    most of the crap junk being downloaded onto
    your computer, I suggest you set your activeX
    to prompt, not enable.

  7. #7
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    January 17th, 2005
    Posts
    530
    Also, I forgot to include in my above post
    that I refuse to have Outlook Express installed
    on my computer, which is where you get a lot
    of your viruses from. I don't understand why
    people continue to use Outlook Express. You don't
    even need to use Outlook Express, just having
    it installed on your computer can cause problems.

  8. #8
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    2,082
    Where do you find this bug fix?
    Cazzie

  9. #9
    ABW Adviser Panel Dynamoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Opposite the Slough of Despond
    Posts
    5,465
    Absolutely right Wayne, OE sucks and if you *do* use it you have to keep it patched all the time with the latest updates.

    I use Eudora and I disable the MS HTML renderer and also disable remote image loading. HTML mail sucks anyway.

    Меня зовут Динаму

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    185
    While it's ok for us to keep our PCs tidy, the downside of promoting this kind of spyware-removing software is that it also makes it super-easy for the average person to delete cookies... thus wiping out the tracking for ALL the affiliate links they ever visited!

    OUCH.

  11. #11
    ABW Adviser Panel Dynamoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Opposite the Slough of Despond
    Posts
    5,465
    This one doesn't seem to touch cookies during normal operations. AdAware removes some of the more persistent tracking cookies like ValueClick.

    This *is* a good product though.. it *does* detect and clean more than AdAware.

    Меня зовут Динаму

  12. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    185
    <BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Dynamoo:
    This one doesn't seem to touch cookies during normal operations. AdAware removes some of the more persistent tracking cookies like ValueClick.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

    If that's the case, then what does the "delete cookies" option on the ERASE TRACKS menu do?

  13. #13
    ABW Adviser Panel Dynamoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Opposite the Slough of Despond
    Posts
    5,465
    That deletes the cookies. [img]/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif[/img]

    Umm what I was driving at is that it doesn't do the cookie deletion as part of the spyware scan. IE6 has a similar cookie delete feature too.

    I wanted to try the mapped drive scan to test on our corporate network but I can't connect to their web server [img]/infopop/emoticons/icon_frown.gif[/img]

    Меня зовут Динаму

  14. #14
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    January 17th, 2005
    Posts
    530
    cazzie,

    Go here for the trial download of SpywareEliminator
    http://www.aluriasoftware.com/spywar...tor/index.html

    Go here for information on setting ActiveX controls:
    http://www.thiefware.com/info/data.set.ie.shtml

    Neither of these links are affiliate links, so I will not be making any money off of them.

    Wayne

  15. #15
    Newbie
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    21
    Please help! I am new to this site and confused as to posting..I have a problem trying to get rid of Xupiter toolbar. I always get a message saying "Xupiter is not installed properly, please uninstall it" I am not that computer literate and I am going crazy trying to get rid of this...HELP! Susan

  16. #16
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    2,082
    Wayne
    Evidently the bug fix was for the free version. I have the paid version. And when I go to update it says I have the current version. I do have Active x set to prompt I always have had it that way [img]/infopop/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif[/img] But thanks for the warning
    Cazzie

  17. #17
    ABW Founder Haiko de Poel, Jr.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    21,609
    Susan59,

    http://www.xupiter.com/uninstall/

    <font size="2" face="Verdana">Haiko


    The secret of success is constancy of purpose. ~ Disraeli
    </font></p>

  18. #18
    ABW Adviser Panel Dynamoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Opposite the Slough of Despond
    Posts
    5,465
    I got a bugfix for the current version.

    Susan59, how did you try to deinstall the toolbar? Did you use the Aluria tool or AdAware or some other method?

    Меня зовут Динаму

  19. #19
    Newbie
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    21
    Hi Haiko, I cant say thank-you enough! I had no idea what or how to get rid of that and I appreciate that you took the time to notify me...Thanks again!...Susan59

  20. #20
    Full Member jarec2001's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Poverty Corners, USA
    Posts
    211
    <BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR> I refuse to have Outlook Express installed
    on my computer, which is where you get a lot
    of your viruses from. I don't understand why
    people continue to use Outlook Express. You don't
    even need to use Outlook Express <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>
    You're referring only to OE, not regular Outlook...or both? I currently use Outlook, but have OE installed as part of the default setup.

    "Then join hand in hand brave Americans all! By uniting we stand, by dividing we fall." - John Dickinson, 1768

    Jim
    JAREC & Associates
    U.S. Sportfishing News

  21. #21
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    2,341
    I just tried installing the trial (twice) of Spyware Eliminator on an XP home edition (Spanish language) computer. Loads detection files and then crashes with error

    Runtine error 76
    Path not found

    Annoying thing about this error is we are not told what path. Any ideas?

    Andy Williams

    Keyword DARTs - New search engine optimization software
    http://www.affiliate-masters.co.uk/k...timization.htm

  22. #22
    Newbie
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    21
    Hi Haiko, You had helped me last time with that Xupiter.. I used the URL you gave me, it ran through and now gives me a message that something isnt right. It lists numbers and says "Program----is not compatible with thismore numbers. Please terminate" I am so new at computers and I dont understand what to do. You guys know alot more than me. Please help..I have Windows XP..Should I disconnect my outlook express for E-mail? I dont use it, its there in case my comcast doesnt work..?? Thank-you..Susan

  23. #23
    ABW Founder Haiko de Poel, Jr.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    21,609
    Susan,

    Have you run Spyware eliminator?

    <font size="2" face="Verdana">Haiko


    The secret of success is constancy of purpose. ~ Disraeli
    </font></p>

  24. #24
    Newbie
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    21
    Hi Haiko, No I havent tried that. I keep getting this message:FSW.EXE.Applications error with different numbers. It says to terminate this program. But, this was the one I took from the Xupiter site on how to uninstall. I dont know what happened, I dont think I should have used it with WindowsXP?? What do you think?? Please help!! Thank-you! Susan

  25. #25
    Newbie
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    21
    Dynamoo, Hi, I apologize for not answering your question before..I am new to computers and am very upset and confused. You asked -how did I uninstall the toolbar for Xupiter?" I dont know what I did. I am serious. Haiko was nice enough to give me the URL for Xupiter .com and it tells you how to uninstall, but now I have an error message coming up saying that I put in an incompatible program??? I dont know what to do with this!! I was so glad that I thought I was rid of that Xupiter and I may have messed up something in my sons computer. Does having Zone Alarm firewall have to be disabled or turned off or whatever you call it before I go any further with this??Susan

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. WhenU Providing a Spyware Scanner Powered by Aluria
    By Kellie aka Ms. B in forum WhenU
    Replies: 28
    Last Post: September 28th, 2005, 10:11 PM
  2. AOL to add Aluria Spyware Eliminator to their service
    By Shawn Collins in forum Aluria Software
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: January 6th, 2004, 08:20 AM
  3. Detection script + Aluria Spware Eliminator?
    By Dynamoo in forum Suspicious Activity!
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: August 22nd, 2003, 12:05 PM
  4. aluria eliminator
    By jc101 in forum Blocking Tips/Advice/scripts
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: May 5th, 2003, 12:08 PM
  5. Aluria's Spyware Eliminator
    By Cedric in forum Suspicious Activity!
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: October 30th, 2002, 05:52 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •