Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Newbie
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    13
    I did a search for my site in Google. I entered linksforstuff.com The following description came up next to my site name. "This page uses frames, but your browser doesn't support them." Could someone please tell me what this is all about? I am a newbie and I don't understand why it says this.

    Thanks

    Steve

  2. #2
    Newbie
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    13
    To add to the previous. When I did the same search and added <www> the comment "This page uses frames, but your browser doesn't support them," did not come up.. I am confused...

    Thanks

  3. #3
    Newbie
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    13
    Above should have read I added www to the linksforstuff.com and did a search and the comment "This page uses frames, but your browser doesn't support them" did not come up..

    Sorry

  4. #4
    Affiliate Miester my2cents's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    far far away....
    Posts
    2,161
    are you using Frame???

    seems like the googlebot ran across frames on your site... and you didn't have an "&lt;iframe></iframe>"
    comment for those browsers that cannot read frames...

    fix your compatatbility issues... and the next time the googlebot wanders by it will read the new info and google will upgrade your listing...

    Just know just because you are listed in google doesnt mean you are will get any visitors or sales

    being listed by you domain name will not help unless it is a "heavly" searched word...





    Joe

    And, that's the bottom line because it's my2cents!

  5. #5
    Newbie
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    13
    Thanks Joe...

    But of course I don't have a clue about having an &lt;iframe>?? Can you fill me in. I realize that this probably isn't the forum for code problems unrealted to TD. But I would apprecuate all that you are willing to share.
    If you would prefer, you can email me at info@linksforstuff.com

    Thatnks

    Steve

  6. #6
    ABW Ambassador Jane's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    1,350
    If you go to your page and do view source in your browser you will see that that is the only text on the page that google has to read.

  7. #7
    ABW Founder Haiko de Poel, Jr.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    21,609
    [Moved to Newbie FAQs]

    <font size="2" face="Verdana">Haiko


    The secret of success is constancy of purpose. ~ Disraeli
    </font></p>

  8. #8
    ABW Ambassador Mike O's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Los Angeles area
    Posts
    843
    You might want to do a Google search for "html frames" -- it'll explain a lot.

    -- Mike

    "Men travel faster now, but I do not know if they go to better things."
    -- Willa Cather

  9. #9
    ABW Adviser Panel Dynamoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Opposite the Slough of Despond
    Posts
    5,465
    To put it really simply.. frames are bad for search engines. In the case of your site they don't add any value anyway. If you want a site that's easy for Google to index, then lose the frames completely.

    ________
    "All your commission are belong to us." - Slimeware Corporation

  10. #10
    ABW Ambassador DesignerWiz's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    U.S.A
    Posts
    2,777
    If you must use frames you will have to do alot of studying on how to create a link map for SE bots to crawl content pages and the Do's & Don'ts.

    We use frames extensively, but we DO provide a nice map for bots to access content pages as if we were not using frames.

    Ray Thomas
    DesignerWiz.com CEO
    Development Resource & Javascript Public Archive Center
    http://DesignerWiz.com
    ABW Board: Category: Programming / Coding

  11. Newsletter Signup

+ Reply to Thread

Similar Threads

  1. Help with Frames
    By UKJ in forum Programming / Datafeeds / Tools
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: June 21st, 2005, 12:28 PM
  2. Frames? do you suggest frames or no frames.
    By jc101 in forum Virtual Family and Off-Topic
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: November 12th, 2002, 01:18 PM
  3. Frames are gone, but how do I..
    By John Kruger in forum Programming / Datafeeds / Tools
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: August 8th, 2002, 12:51 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •