Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Newbie
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    12
    I am trying to display category list in left column of everypage in my site. It looks well. However, I found the problem when I visit my site in sub-directory. I.e., When I come to this page: domain.com/1/index.html, all category links changed from domain.com/cat1.html to domain.com/1/cat1.html....

    I viewed the source code and found the category link is href="cat1.html" instead of href="/cat1.html", I think that's the reason

    Do you have the same problem? Are there anyway to solve this problem?

    Thanks

    Rob

  2. #2
    ABW Ambassador buy_online's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Richmond, VA
    Posts
    3,234
    What are you using in the "Generated Field Names" area in the Index Pages tab?

    You may have selected the "Name Based on Contents..." field, instead of "serialized names..."

    Just a thought.

    Fred

    You might just be a Redneck if - Birds are attracted to your beard...

  3. #3
    Affiliate Manager
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Los Angeles, California
    Posts
    1,913
    <BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by rrob:
    I am trying to display category list in left column of everypage in my site. It looks well. However, I found the problem when I visit my site in sub-directory. I.e., When I come to this page: domain.com/1/index.html, all category links changed from domain.com/cat1.html to domain.com/1/cat1.html....

    I viewed the source code and found the category link is href="cat1.html" instead of href="/cat1.html", I think that's the reason<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

    If cat1.html is in the same folder as the page whose source that's in then simply "cat1.html" is the proper form. If it's in a subolder it would need to contain the folder name in the path.

    --
    Richard Gaskin
    Fourth World Media Corporation
    Developer of WebMerge: Publish any database on any site
    ___________________________________________________________
    Ambassador@FourthWorld.com http://www.FourthWorld.com
    Tel: 323-225-3717 AIM: FourthWorldInc

  4. #4
    Newbie
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    12
    Thanks Fred, I use "Name based on Category",

    Thanks Richard, it is not in the subfolder and I upload it to my root directory. When I access any page in my roon directory, such as domain.com/whatever.html, link will be domain.com/cat1.html, it is fine, however, when I access domain.com/sub1/whatever.html or domain.com/sub2/whatever.html, the category link will automatically change to domain.com/sub1/cat1.html or domain.com/sub2/cat1.html, so "the file not found". That's my problem.

    I use the following templete to generate my category list, index file is cat.html:

    &lt;!-- START CATEGORY LIST --&gt;
    [WM-Record]
    [WM-IndexLabel: CATEGORY]
    [WM-If: IndexRecordNumber &gt; 1]
    [/WM-If][WM-Field: CATEGORY[/WM-IndexLabel]
    [/WM-Record]
    &lt;!-- END CATEGORY LIST --&gt;

    Then, I use &lt;!--#include virtual="/cat.html" --&gt; in the left part of my site. Did I do anything wrong?

    Thanks

    Rob

  5. #5
    ABW Ambassador Mike O's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Los Angeles area
    Posts
    843
    Hi, Rob:

    I don't understand all you're trying to do, but there appears to be an error in your code that I think I *can* understand, so I'll mention that in hopes it helps.

    Part of your code:
    [WM-If: IndexRecordNumber &gt; 1]
    [/WM-If][WM-Field: CATEGORY[/WM-IndexLabel]

    As far as I can see this'll do nothing, since the code activated if a WM-If condition is true must be *between* the WM-If tag and the /WM-If tag.

    -- Mike

    "Men travel faster now, but I do not know if they go to better things."
    -- Willa Cather

  6. Newsletter Signup

+ Reply to Thread

Similar Threads

  1. anyone having problems with deep linking to circuitcity?
    By randomtexture in forum Google Affiliate Network - GAN
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: January 15th, 2009, 01:31 PM
  2. Please Help with Linking
    By bpal in forum ShareASale - SAS
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: February 11th, 2004, 12:21 PM
  3. Anybody had problems with Product linking through CJ?
    By Grumpy in forum Commission Junction - CJ
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: February 10th, 2004, 02:25 AM
  4. Product linking when there is NO product linking offered..need help.
    By GrainFarmer in forum Google Affiliate Network - GAN
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: December 6th, 2002, 02:33 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •