I've been using WebMerge for a couple of years now. From my first experience with it, though, I noticed that if I was connected to the Internet, it would generate pages very slowly. That was back in my dial-up days. I would see it was running slowly (from the very first record), and abort. Disconnet from the Internet, and start again. Zoom!

Now I'm on wireless broadband connection and am connected all the time. 176 records takes 1621.7 seconds to generate. The pages themselves are rather small, only 2-4K. The file folder into which these records are generated is always emptied before I start.

There are no errors in the error log.

I'm using Windows 98, WebMerge 2.1

Any ideas?

Affiliate Manager
    <BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by dagmoon:
    I've been using WebMerge for a couple of years now. From my first experience with it, though, I noticed that if I was connected to the Internet, it would generate pages very slowly. That was back in my dial-up days. I would see it was running slowly (from the very first record), and abort. Disconnet from the Internet, and start again. Zoom!

Now I'm on wireless broadband connection and am connected all the time. 176 records takes 1621.7 seconds to generate. The pages themselves are rather small, only 2-4K. The file folder into which these records are generated is always emptied before I start.

There are no errors in the error log.

I'm using Windows 98, WebMerge 2.1

Any ideas?<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Few, I'm afraid. This issue has not been reported before, and I don't have a machine here with Win98 to test on (six computers for testing here, even one with Win95, but none with that specific OS version).

There should be nothing in the program logic requiring an Internet connection other than posting your reg code when you first register the program and of course when uploading pages with it's built-in FTP.