Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    52
    Hello all,

    I get a data feed and in some of the product names, they have quotes around part of the name like "gadget" wirlygig... I want to remove those quotes. I tried the replace tag with something like replace(quote&"&quote," ") but that didn't work. Any suggestions, please email me

  2. #2
    http and a telephoto
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    17,708
    You can remove them by clicking on Text Fields enclosed in " on the import database page.

    Deborah Carney
    Link up!
    Submit your sites, if you fit the criteria
    http://coolcraftsites.com/directory
    http://coolpetsites.com/petlinks

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    52
    its a pipe delimited data feed so I can't click on that box and have pipe delimited selected at the same time. The quotes are not around the entire line of text, they are just around one or two words in the line of text and its not in every record

  4. #4
    http and a telephoto
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    17,708
    Yes you can, it is a checkbox in addition to the delimiter box.

    Deborah Carney
    Link up!
    Submit your sites, if you fit the criteria
    http://coolcraftsites.com/directory
    http://coolpetsites.com/petlinks

  5. #5
    ABW Ambassador Mike O's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Los Angeles area
    Posts
    843
    If the quotes are only around part of one field's text, and not around the whole field, I don't think the checkbox will do you any good.

    Can you do a global search and replace operation with a text editor to remove *all* quotes, or will that cause you other problems?

    -- Mike

    [This message was edited by MikeO on February 12, 2004 at 12:35 AM.]

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    52
    If I select Pipe Delimited, then select that in the delimiter box, if I then click on the checkbox for quotes, it changes my selection of Pipe Delimited to none and that screws up my records. I get error messages because the data names and fields no longer corrilate

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    52
    Well that does work. Its not perfect. Removing all instances of quotes solves any html issues that it was creating. The only problem is that in some fields like the product description field, there might be a product dimension where a quote is alright, such as 5" x 5" and this doesn't mess up my html. But quotes in the name field do mess up my html. I use the name field in the image url for the alt text of the image and this has quotes around it already so if there are quotes in the field, it messes things up. I'm probably asking too much and deleting all instances of quotes takes care of this problem so I won't worry about it. It would just be really slick if I could remove those quotes with webmerge in that perticular field in that spot of my template.

  8. #8
    ABW Ambassador buy_online's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Richmond, VA
    Posts
    3,234
    Ahhh...the joys of cleaning up your feed. Let me count the ways...

    OK, I am a smart Alec (whatever that is?).

    If you are doing a search and replace in Excel, or using the replace function in WM, you might try replacing the double-quotes with the word "inch" if you know that is the only instance (or usage) of the double-quotes.

    The process of cleaning up things in a feed is usually a multi-part challenge (if you want to be thorough and put your own touches in).

    Some bad news if editing in Excel, you can't save the file pipe-delimited. If I am wrong someone please point this out to me. I have excel2k btw.

    Fred

    Are you sure the nurses know you're using the computer?

  9. #9
    http and a telephoto
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    17,708
    I haven't been able to figure out how to save as pipe delimited in excel either, same version as you.

    Sorry, I thought the fields were enclosed in quotes.

    Deborah Carney
    Link up!
    Submit your sites, if you fit the criteria
    http://coolcraftsites.com/directory
    http://coolpetsites.com/petlinks

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    52
    I just used notepad to do the search and replace and it seemed to work fine. Not all of the instances of the quotes are inches so I can't do replace all quotes with inches. One option would be to go through and do the search and replace one at a time. It would take a while, but would get the right results. I have learned so much yesterday about using webmerge and data feeds. In the past, tt took me a week to go through the pages I create for one data feed and clean up things. Then yesterday I learned about the replace tag in webmerge. I also learned about the raw tag. I was getting all kinds of scrambled text whenever there was a tm tag or other symbol, but the raw tag takes care of that. I used the replace tag to replace a really large image that comes with one of my data feeds with a thumbnail image. That is going to save me so much time. Now, my only problem is with websites that send me their product data feed with no manufacturer name or any way of sorting the products.

  11. #11
    Affiliate Manager
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Los Angeles, California
    Posts
    1,913
    <BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by epic:
    I tried the replace tag with something like replace(quote&"&quote," ") but that didn't work.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

    What did your tag look lik, and what did it generate?

    --
    Richard Gaskin
    Fourth World Media Corporation
    Developer of WebMerge: Publish any database on any site
    ___________________________________________________________
    Ambassador@FourthWorld.com http://www.FourthWorld.com
    Tel: 323-225-3717 AIM: FourthWorldInc

  12. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    52
    Here's what it looked like [WM-Field: product_desc raw replace(quote&"&quote," "]
    The replace part of that tag didn't do anything. I tried a few different versions of that and none of them did anything. I tried spelling quote quot, I tried using a _ instead of blank space, I tried putting the & in front of the quote. When I post this to the message board, it probably converts the "&quote" to a "e so keep that in mind when reading this post

  13. #13
    Newbie
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    2
    Can you replace double quotes (") with two single quotes ('')? That way things still appear to be in quotes -- or inches -- without conflicting with double quotes used in HTML tags.

    Jim

  14. #14
    Affiliate Manager
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Los Angeles, California
    Posts
    1,913
    <BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by epic:
    Here's what it looked like [WM-Field: product_desc raw replace(quote&"&quote," "]
    The replace part of that tag didn't do anything. I tried a few different versions of that and none of them did anything. I tried spelling quote quot, I tried using a _ instead of blank space, I tried putting the & in front of the quote. When I post this to the message board, it probably converts the "&quote" to a "e so keep that in mind when reading this post<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

    You may have found one of the few bugs that survived six months of public beta testing. If you'll kindly send me your template to webmerge@fourthworld.com and note which OS you're using I'll see if I can get a build for you to verify the fix tommorrow.

    --
    Richard Gaskin
    Fourth World Media Corporation
    Developer of WebMerge: Publish any database on any site
    ___________________________________________________________
    Ambassador@FourthWorld.com http://www.FourthWorld.com
    Tel: 323-225-3717 AIM: FourthWorldInc

  15. Newsletter Signup

+ Reply to Thread

Similar Threads

  1. WM-Field - Replace Option
    By warrenkuhl in forum WebMerge (Fourthworld.com)
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: May 26th, 2008, 06:21 PM
  2. Using Replace Tag
    By a-n-d-y in forum WebMerge (Fourthworld.com)
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: June 27th, 2007, 05:32 PM
  3. Replace Tag
    By misterdave in forum WebMerge (Fourthworld.com)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: February 26th, 2007, 11:58 AM
  4. WM-Field Replace a space
    By insyncnet in forum WebMerge (Fourthworld.com)
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: April 24th, 2006, 11:09 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •