O.k, O.k.,

I am NOT a dummy. (I keep telling myself) I should be able to read and follow
    the WebMerge tutorials and follow the Forum discussions (I copied and
    created a Helpfile of all the problems and fixes for a reference) and
    figure out how to use WebMerge.
    I have taken Html I & II, know basic Javascript, learned Dynamic HTML
    and Css, and taken Access database classes.
    But, I am not a programmer.
    "No problem" I tell myself. You can figure this out.
    NOT!
    I downloaded a text datafeed from http://www.gigagolf.com/affiliates/d...d/gigagolf.txt
    and used it as a test
    document to play with and understand the basics.
    I imported the text file into Access, and also Excel to create three
    seperate versions of the datafeeed to learn from. (using Office 2k)
    I started WebMerge, and all I got was a bunch of gibberish.

From the "Sources" tab I selected the file to import. On the preset
    I selected "Affiliate feed- pipe delimited".
    I selected the "First line of file contains field names" checkbox.
    I set the Field Name delimiter as |.
    I selected the Data Delimiter as | and checked the "text values are in quotes"
    checkbox.

I used the same pattern on the Index, Detail, and Generation pages,
    limiting the results to 10.

I got a bunch of gibberish. I tries the Access and Excel files, same
    thing.
    I went back and changed the "Presets" to different options, more gibberish.

What-in-the-hell-am-I-doing-wrong?

I'm about to pull what remains of my hair out.

I decided to take a break, ask this forum for help, and sleep on it.

I'm determined to learn WebMerge, I think it's a good tool for affiliates.

Is there a url I can visit, a place to get step-by-step instructions?

Many, many thanks.

Rick K.

Lost in Cyberspace

Resident Genius and Staunch Capitalist Leader's Avatar
    A quick look shows that the values aren't in quotes here.