Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Newbie
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    35
    On my index pages for some reason the sub categories are getting duplicated. Anyone know why this would happen? For ex:

    Link to sub cat 1
    Link to sub cat 2
    Link to sub cat 3
    Link to sub cat 1
    Link to sub cat 2
    Link to sub cat 3

  2. #2
    Newbie
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    35
    Nevermind, I got it! My export file wasn't sorted.

    I had to sort it and save it in Excel for this to work. Why wouldn't the "Sort records by field" option in WM work? I did have that selected...

  3. #3
    Full Member
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    413
    Well then, nevermind my post either!

    the obvious question is . . .

    Have you checked for duplicate HTML coding in the template? Try using notepad to search your raw HTML codes for duplicates (rather than a WYSIWYG editor).

    If that doesn't work, try rebooting your computer.

  4. #4
    Newbie
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    35
    > rather than a WYSIWYG editor

    I think that's an insult!

    It's not dup code, I'm doing this all by HAND in notepad. Plus, there's nothing but barebones HTML in there so I can see everything is fine there.

    Now, I do still have to problem. I got to to work once, but now it seems to be back at it. I could be wrong, but it seems to have something to do with sorting. Any ideas?

  5. #5
    Full Member
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    413
    Are you using the the WM table generation tag combined with the WM indexlabel tag?

    How about posting the WM coding for us to take a look at? If you don't want to post in publicly, then send me a private message.

    Regards,

    FRANK

  6. #6
    ABW Ambassador buy_online's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Richmond, VA
    Posts
    3,234
    Funny, I normally always (pre) sort in Excel, in addition to sorting in WM - so I'm not sure about why it wouldn't work (sort in WM).

    I would bet money your problem is in your data feed file though.

    Fred

  7. #7
    Newbie
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    35
    Frank,

    Here's the WM code I'm using:

    <body>
    <p><b>CATEGORY: [WM-Field: MAINCAT nolink]</b></p>
    [WM-Record]
    [WM-IndexLabel: SUBCAT]

    <p><a href="[WM-Field: CLEANSUBCAT nolink].html">[WM-Field: SUBCAT nolink]</a></p>
    [/WM-IndexLabel]
    [/WM-Record]
    </body>

    Fred,

    If it is my data feed how would I find the problem? What would I look for?

    Thanks guys.

  8. #8
    Full Member
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    413
    I suspect, but have not confirmed, that the duplication problem may lie with using TWO WM tags for CLEANSUBCAT and SUBCAT between of the IndexLabel tags.

    What happens if you use just a standard linking tag like [WM-Field: SUBCAT] (just for testing purposes)?

    What are you "cleaning" with CLEANSUBCAT? If it is simply to replace one character, I am wondering if a replacment command might not work for you, e.g. something like replace [WM-Field: SUBCAT replace (" ","-")].

  9. #9
    Newbie
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    35
    > TWO WM tags for CLEANSUBCAT and SUBCAT
    > between of the IndexLabel tags.

    Hmmm.. I bet that's it. I'll try it tonight, that stinks if it is though.

    > What are you "cleaning" with CLEANSUBCAT?

    I'm cleaning out 3-4 single characters, plus about 4 whole words, plus improper spacing. I thought of using the replace command, but figured the way I was going was a simpler solution. Looks like I might have to use the replace method though. Any idea if WM can handle all that with the replace function?

  10. #10
    Full Member
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    413
    I don't think that the replace command can handle multiple terms (but I could be wrong).

    Is using the [WM-Field: CLEANSUBCAT] tag not an option? If you cleaned out "improper spacing" wouldn't you also want the correct spacing to appear as the text on the page (which it won't if you use SUBCAT.

    Regards,

    FRANK

  11. #11
    Newbie
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    35
    > I don't think that the replace command can handle multiple terms

    It can, I jsut figure there might be a limit. I'll try that tonight as well.

    > [WM-Field: CLEANSUBCAT] tag not an option?

    No, I've removed stuff that would make it look bad to users, but is good in the file names.

    > cleaned out "improper spacing" wouldn't you
    > also want the correct spacing to appear as
    > the text on the page (which it won't if you
    > use SUBCAT.

    Subcat is cleaned as well, just not as indepth.

  12. #12
    Affiliate Manager
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Los Angeles, California
    Posts
    1,913
    <BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by pw:
    Frank,

    Here's the WM code I'm using:

    &lt;body&gt;
    &lt;p&gt;CATEGORY: [WM-Field: MAINCAT nolink]&lt;/p&gt;
    [WM-Record]
    [WM-IndexLabel: SUBCAT]

    &lt;p&gt;&lt;a href="[WM-Field: CLEANSUBCAT nolink].html"&gt;[WM-Field: SUBCAT nolink]&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
    [/WM-IndexLabel]
    [/WM-Record]
    &lt;/body&gt; <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

    Be sure that's only being used in an index page, as detail pages don't use the WM-Record or WM-IndexLabel tags.

    <BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>
    If it is my data feed how would I find the problem? What would I look for? <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

    The most common issue is with comma-delimited files in which the "Text values are in quotes" option is turned on inappropriately.

    I just revised the next version of the documentation to include this note in the section on the Sources tab:


    ---
    NOTE: The "Text values are in quotes" option means ONLY text values are in quotes; numeric and empty values are not quoted. That option exists to help the program conform to Microsoft's specifications for CSV files, and while there are many other inconsistencies with CSV files exported from different Microsoft products nearly all of them identified as "commas-separate" or "CSV" use this quoting convention.

    The advantage of not having to use "Text values are in quotes" (in addition to parsing the file correctly) is that you'll find WebMerge will run through it's "Setting up" phase much faster without it. Accomodating Microsoft's CSV format is a very time-consuming process, but files with a simpler format like tab-delimited or Merge get parsed by WebMerge in one quick move.

    -----
    Richard Gaskin
    Developer of WebMerge: Publish any data feed on any site
    http://www.fourthworld.com

  13. Newsletter Signup

+ Reply to Thread

Similar Threads

  1. I HATE When I'm Duped!
    By Billy Kay in forum Midnight Cafe'
    Replies: 35
    Last Post: March 7th, 2006, 01:11 PM
  2. Index Page containing all Categories
    By Tazzzam in forum WebMerge (Fourthworld.com)
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: February 13th, 2005, 12:31 PM
  3. Anyone been duped by Kalyx.com??
    By Decency in forum Midnight Cafe'
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: September 17th, 2004, 05:01 PM
  4. Ouchhh!!! Have I been duped?
    By Whiznot in forum Rakuten LinkShare - LS
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: April 10th, 2002, 03:21 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •