Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Newbie
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    14
    Does anyone know how to make the coding with dreamweaver stop breaking up my WM tags onto different lines?

    Anytime you make ANY changes, text, html, whatever, it seems like half the tags get seperated onto two lines, then you need to go pull them together again.

  2. #2
    Full Member
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    413
    I don't user dreamweaver, but I have noticed a similar "problem" with FrontPage. When you save a template page it reformats the HTML codes to make them more readable. This process also creates a lot of wasted space (in my opinion) and breaks coding into two or more lines (as you have noted). HOWEVER, the HTML coding it still works, even though it looks messy.

    Do the WM generated pages using those "broken" templates look OK. Or, is this messing up the browser appearance of the WebPages?

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    110
    Maybe you'll find something under Edit>Preferences>Code Rewriting

  4. #4
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    742
    In Dreamweaver try setting the page to View > Code View Options > No Word Wrap. That might work.

  5. #5
    ABW Ambassador buy_online's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Richmond, VA
    Posts
    3,234
    First, Bob's advice is an excellent start.

    I have used several different versions of dreamweaver (currently using MX), and each handles pasted and/or saved code a little different depending on which one you use.

    In MX, once I create the page visually, I'll almost always go back to code view, with word wrap off.

    The real trick is to make sure you paste only in code view. For example, if you highlight a section or table in Design View, and paste it in Design View in another document, then you'll notice some additional line breaks in the code (in Code View of course).

    So, the trick is to copy and paste only in Code View. That, coupled with word wrap turned off should take care of the problem.

    Fred

  6. #6
    Full Member markschok's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    269
    I make sure I save when in code view too along with cut and paste in code view
    I've noticed the code breaking when switching views and saving. It seems to url encode some charachters

  7. #7
    ABW Ambassador buy_online's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Richmond, VA
    Posts
    3,234
    "It seems to url encode some charachters"

    Exactly, and yet another reason to paste in code view.

    Fred

  8. Newsletter Signup

+ Reply to Thread

Similar Threads

  1. Dreamweaver
    By 5ridegear in forum Search Engine Optimization
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: June 5th, 2005, 05:05 PM
  2. Need Dreamweaver Help
    By bob95603 in forum Midnight Cafe'
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: April 8th, 2005, 04:08 PM
  3. Dreamweaver ?
    By Mary- in forum Programming / Datafeeds / Tools
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: September 3rd, 2003, 05:12 AM
  4. Dreamweaver
    By jackson992 in forum Programming / Datafeeds / Tools
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: August 17th, 2002, 10:40 AM
  5. Coding Help
    By daniell in forum Programming / Datafeeds / Tools
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: February 9th, 2002, 01:36 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •