Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 27
  1. #1
    The Eternal Optimist zimmy's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    696
    When I put:

    [WM-RECORD][WM-IndexLabel: CAT]
    [WM-FIELD: CAT]
    [/WM-IndexLabel][/WM-Record]

    my data is beautiful. Categories are listed but the list is very long. I would like to add tables. When I put:

    [WM-RECORD cols=3 width=600][WM-IndexLabel: CAT]
    [WM-FIELD: CAT]
    [/WM-IndexLabel][/WM-Record]

    it doesn't look right.

    What happens is this:

    category A
    (long blank space if there are a lot of items in category A)



    category B
    (long blank space if lots of itmes in this category)

    This continues and does put the category names into tables but the formatting is horrible. Huge spaces. I'm not sure I have adequately described the problem but maybe someone knows what I am doing wrong.



    ~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*

    The big shots are only the little shots who keep shooting.
    -Christopher Morley

  2. #2
    Full Member
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    413
    A number of WebMergers, including me, have encountered problems in formatting when using the WM Record creation tag,e.g., [WM-RECORD cols=3 width=500].

    The work-around solution was to add an extra set of HTML codes in the template to close the table. In other words, the codes for closing the parent table become </td></tr></table></td></tr></table> instead of just </td></tr></table>.

    It's not pretty, but it solved the problem for me.

  3. #3
    The Eternal Optimist zimmy's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    696
    Well that didn't work for me. What is happening is the table is leaving room (within each individual cell) for the amount of items within a particular category. Categories that have only 1 item display properly. Categories that have multiple items show large spaces in their cell that is proportional to the amount of items in the category.

    The items are not showing up, it is just blank space.



    ~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*

    The big shots are only the little shots who keep shooting.
    -Christopher Morley

  4. #4
    Full Member
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    413
    Check for "garbage" HTML codes that appear between
    [WM-RECORD cols=3 width=600] and [/WM-Record]

    There should not be any table or other html codes between those two tags, e.g., <td>, <dt>, <p>, etc

    Regards,

    FRANK

  5. #5
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    539
    i have also has this problem, with every feed i have done, if only doing a 3 tier site, i only get it on the index page, which i modify later, but if i make anythign bigger, it ends up like that with loads of lines spaces in between the category names!

    very wierd, and i have tried everything to stop it.

  6. #6
    The Eternal Optimist zimmy's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    696
    Frank,
    I appreciate all of your help and suggestions. So far nothing has worked.

    Tamalyn,
    Let me know if you ever figure it out! It is very frustrating to say the least. I will probably be doing the same as you and fixing the index page by hand. This is on a 3 tiered heirarchy as well but it happens if I just run the index and detail only.



    ~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*

    The big shots are only the little shots who keep shooting.
    -Christopher Morley

  7. #7
    The Eternal Optimist zimmy's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    696
    The solution was very simple. After many hours of trying to solve my problem I discovered that I could upgrade to 2.3.

    Wish I had thought of checking yesterday!



    ~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*

    The big shots are only the little shots who keep shooting.
    -Christopher Morley

  8. #8
    Full Member
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    413
    Interesting, and Congratulations!

    It would also be interesting to know what version Tamalyn is using.

  9. #9
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    539
    i assumed i was using version 2.3 too, and yes, i am!

    why is it still happening to me??? boo hoo

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    184
    I use 2.3 and it still happens. You have add the extra tags or do a find and replace.

    Different pages will be affected differently, however, the error will repeat and I've found at most 4 variants. So a find and replace of the 4 different errors for instance across your detail and cat pages cures the problem too.

  11. #11
    Newbie
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    35
    I have a very similar problem, if not the same. I'm running v2.3 and on my index pages if I use [WM-RECORD cols=3 width=600] the table that generates is loaded with empty <td> tags that cause everything to misalign.

    If I take just that code out everything works perfectly, but the layout is not what I want. Anyone know how to fix this?

  12. #12
    Full Member
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    413
    Have you checked for garbage table coding between [WM-RECORD cols=3 width=600] and [/WM-Record]? Strip out everything except the essential code, and then rebuild.

    If your WM generated table is created within a regular table, have you tried adding an extra </td></tr></table> to close that table?

    If those two strategies don't work, then I would suggest recreating the problem template from scratch. You might also try recreating the same coding in the FUN-TO-COLLECT tutorial templates which uses a somewhat similar structure. If it works there, that should tell you something.

  13. #13
    Affiliate Manager
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Los Angeles, California
    Posts
    1,913
    <BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by pw:
    I have a very similar problem, if not the same. I'm running v2.3 and on my index pages if I use [WM-RECORD cols=3 width=600] the table that generates is loaded with empty &lt;td&gt; tags that cause everything to misalign.

    If I take just that code out everything works perfectly, but the layout is not what I want. Anyone know how to fix this? <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

    Are you saying that it's the empty cells throwing the layout off? That is, if you construct the table by hand do you get the same appearance?
    Richard Gaskin
    Developer of WebMerge: Publish any data feed on any site
    http://www.fourthworld.com

  14. #14
    Newbie
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    35
    &gt; Are you saying that it's the empty cells throwing the layout off?

    Yes.

    &gt; if you construct the table by hand do you get the same appearance?

    Well, if I did it all by hand the table would look correct. If you mean build the table by hand and have WM populate it, I don't know how to do that the way I want.

    What I want is just 3 columns on my index pages, meaning no more than 3 &lt;td&gt;s. I can't see how to do that without using the WM tag and that adds the extra &lt;td&gt;s that I don't want.

  15. #15
    All Around Web Guy Cursal's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    829
    I'm having the same type of problems--Misaligned tables-- using the 4 tier nested (shown at Franks website on WM)

    I will test using the extra table closing statements

    &lt;/td&gt;&lt;/tr&gt;&lt;/table&gt;

    Once I know if that is cure I will post again.

    best resolutions to all,
    --Brian
    Oregon Publishing: Web Development, Graphic Design, Domains & Marketing
    Deluxe Banners Bartender's Guide Cooking Jobs

  16. #16
    Affiliate Manager
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Los Angeles, California
    Posts
    1,913
    <BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Cursal:
    I'm having the same type of problems--Misaligned tables-- using the 4 tier nested (shown at Franks website on WM)

    I will test using the extra table closing statements

    &lt;/td&gt;&lt;/tr&gt;&lt;/table&gt;

    Once I know if that is cure I will post again. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

    What does the code in the template look like?
    Richard Gaskin
    Developer of WebMerge: Publish any data feed on any site
    http://www.fourthworld.com

  17. #17
    All Around Web Guy Cursal's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    829
    I have a table as the base layout (one big one) set at 100% width and no height

    Inside that table Another table with 3 rows.
    On the second row 2 colums left for nav and right for main content --where WM is dumped into. All the other areas are filled with SSI for easy updating and adding new links to the nav, header and footer.

    Not sure if that helps, but if you would like I could post the basic table layout code.

    Richard, Thanks for paying attention to this issues that I and others are having difficulty with. Would be nice to have this fixed in the next or future upgrade(s)
    --Brian
    Oregon Publishing: Web Development, Graphic Design, Domains & Marketing
    Deluxe Banners Bartender's Guide Cooking Jobs

  18. #18
    All Around Web Guy Cursal's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    829
    Haven't yet tested the added statments for the table but will have an update tomarrow some time once I have tried it out



    --Brian
    Oregon Publishing: Web Development, Graphic Design, Domains & Marketing
    Deluxe Banners Bartender's Guide Cooking Jobs

  19. #19
    All Around Web Guy Cursal's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    829
    Ok I took the time to show VERY BASIC code of the table layout I use for many of my sites. And one I am playing with with WM.

    &lt;html&gt;
    &lt;head&gt;
    &lt;title&gt;Untitled Document&lt;/title&gt;
    &lt;meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=iso-8859-1"&gt;
    &lt;/head&gt;

    &lt;body&gt;
    &lt;table width="100%" border="0" cellspacing="5" cellpadding="5"&gt;
    &lt;tr&gt;
    &lt;td&gt;&lt;table width="100%" border="0" cellspacing="5" cellpadding="5"&gt;
    &lt;tr align="center"&gt;
    &lt;td colspan="2"&gt;Header&lt;/td&gt;
    &lt;/tr&gt;
    &lt;tr&gt;
    &lt;td align="left"&gt;Nav&lt;/td&gt;
    &lt;td align="center"&gt;Web Merge Here&lt;/td&gt;
    &lt;/tr&gt;
    &lt;tr align="center"&gt;
    &lt;td colspan="2"&gt;Footer&lt;/td&gt;
    &lt;/tr&gt;
    &lt;/table&gt;&lt;/td&gt;
    &lt;/tr&gt;
    &lt;/table&gt;
    &lt;/body&gt;
    &lt;/html&gt;


    --Brian
    Oregon Publishing: Web Development, Graphic Design, Domains & Marketing
    Deluxe Banners Bartender's Guide Cooking Jobs

  20. #20
    All Around Web Guy Cursal's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    829
    ---Removed----By Cursal
    Sorry this didn't work for all pages and table situtations please see my next post for further a further explaination.

    oops

    --Brian
    Oregon Publishing: Web Development, Graphic Design, Domains & Marketing
    Deluxe Banners Bartender's Guide Cooking Jobs

  21. #21
    Affiliate Manager
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Los Angeles, California
    Posts
    1,913
    Cursal, please send me an email noting your operating system and version and I'll see if I can get a fix for that for you. If it tests well for you I'll include that in the next update.
    Richard Gaskin
    Developer of WebMerge: Publish any data feed on any site
    http://www.fourthworld.com

  22. #22
    All Around Web Guy Cursal's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    829
    Richard,

    After further testing I have found a new problem

    I have removed previous posts as they didn't work on all 4500 pages. And don't want others trying that and thinking it was/is perfect.I apologize, I spoke to soon

    I did see that the misalignment of table is similar to zimmy's problem.

    And the fix that Frank has offered by adding the extra table statements &lt;/td&gt;&lt;/tr&gt;&lt;/table&gt; works if your table doesn't have empty cells, if it does have one or more empty cells you need to only have &lt;/tr&gt;&lt;/table&gt; I think. I end up with an extra &lt;/td&gt; tag on those pages.

    But the problem lays in not being able to sort out which pages will have empty cells--i.e. needing only &lt;tr&gt;&lt;/table&gt;

    or which pages have "filled" tables which need the full table closing statment &lt;/td&gt;&lt;/tr&gt;&lt;/table&gt;

    *NOTE all the extra table tags/statements follow the last WM code on the page. And this is only relevent if you are running WM inside of a table.

    Can somebody test to see if this happens to you.
    Maybe Frank or Fred can try that out to see if they can reproduce the problem.
    Yeah, I'm picking you guys out, as you have a known understanding of WM.

    Hope this helps.

    @Richard I am using Windows XP Home and WM 2.3

    Sorry for the earlier confusion, I'll be more thurough in the future before making a "perfect" claim

    --Brian
    Oregon Publishing: Web Development, Graphic Design, Domains & Marketing
    Deluxe Banners Bartender's Guide Cooking Jobs

  23. #23
    Newbie
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    14
    I have another tables problem: when I specify the number of rows, it doesn't inset it into the html for me, all I get is the width specified (in addition to the missing tables closing tag), ouch!!

  24. #24
    Full Member
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    413
    As you have already discovered, the WM tables generation tag only allows you to specifiy the number of cols number and width.

  25. #25
    Full Member
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    413
    QUOTE
    =========================
    And the fix that Frank has offered by adding the extra table statements &lt;/td&gt;&lt;/tr&gt;&lt;/table&gt; works if your table doesn't have empty cells, if it does have one or more empty cells you need to only have &lt;/tr&gt;&lt;/table&gt; I think. I end up with an extra &lt;/td&gt; tag on those pages.
    =========================

    I have not noticed that any mis-alignment problem in my tables, i.e., when there are trailing empty cells in the table. They all look fine to me (he says with fingers crossed).

    I hesitate to suggest this but you might try adding an additional set of tags. In other words try adding
    &lt;/td&gt;&lt;/tr&gt;&lt;/table&gt;&lt;/td&gt;&lt;/tr&gt;&lt;/table&gt;
    instead of just adding
    &lt;/td&gt;&lt;/tr&gt;&lt;/table&gt;
    to the existing coding.

    And, if that doesn't work try adding &lt;/td&gt;&lt;/tr&gt;&lt;/table&gt;&lt;/td&gt;&lt;/tr&gt;&lt;/table&gt;&lt;/td&gt;&lt;/tr&gt;&lt;/table&gt;.

    I know that this sounds terribly (and unprofessionally) messy, but I one of the above combinations always works for me.

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. CSS or Tables?
    By Cheesehead in forum Programming / Datafeeds / Tools
    Replies: 32
    Last Post: July 10th, 2007, 02:35 AM
  2. Problem with tables and columns
    By MarkJH in forum WebMerge (Fourthworld.com)
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: March 9th, 2004, 03:27 PM
  3. HTML Tables....
    By eggerda in forum Programming / Datafeeds / Tools
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: January 14th, 2004, 05:59 AM
  4. Need Help With Tables & IE
    By sweat in forum Programming / Datafeeds / Tools
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: July 10th, 2003, 12:29 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •