Results 1 to 18 of 18
  1. #1
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    2,419
    All, I have been seeing more and more of my old qksrv links failing eith 404's and the only way to fix them has been to change them out with one of the new links which have a the same structure but uses one of the new domains.

    Perhaps I missed where changing the links was required (I though it was optional). Due to this issue, I'm now thinking I need to go review and do a bunch of link changes I'd personally rather not do. qksrv Links that give 404's wont make much money though.

    I figured I'd pass it along that I'm noticing this and you're in the same boat as I well.... you might need to do some work didn't plan on.

  2. #2
    "An Englishman In New York" TJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    3,282
    Ah crap, I hope you are wrong Poon.... this is NOT what I need right now... Damn you Peter Norton!!!!

  3. #3
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Nunya, Business
    Posts
    23,684
    Noticed a few doing that, some are ok. Hopefully just a temp glitch, maybe time to go ahead and switch the rest over.

  4. #4
    Resident Genius and Staunch Capitalist Leader's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    12,817
    I did a quick check and mine are working.

    quote:
    maybe time to go ahead and switch the rest over.


    I hope not! LOL when I looked for an old page to check with, first I found an ancient page that still had the REAL old links--that's right...the ones that go to "www.commission-junction/track..."

    Since they've left those links working for years I think it's a good sign that any qksrv 404s are only temporary.
    There is no knowledge that is not power. ~Hemingway

  5. #5
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Nunya, Business
    Posts
    23,684
    Probably just a glitch, don't think they would do this right before the holidays and i'm sure they'll continue to work long after that.

  6. #6
    "An Englishman In New York" TJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    3,282
    Whew! Did some testing myself and the ones I found were ok.

    I also got to thinknig that they would give invalid links producing traffic reports or something like that instead of 404's

    Not April 1st is it Poon? :P

  7. #7
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    2,419
    The last one I found was for rochester big and talls home page. I forget the others we've changed but it's been I'd say 5 or 6 others over the last couple of days during some testing. Perhaps Mrs Poon will remember who some were as I usually just ask her to change them out. Thats a specific one you can check for now though.

  8. #8
    Ad Network Rep ToddCrawford's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Santa Barbara, CA
    Posts
    2,162
    FYI - all domains lead to the same place so if one didn't work none would work. I am having our tech team investigate this but we are showing no signs of these types of errors. It may be a glitch on your end or within the Internet.
    Todd Crawford
    Co-Founder, Impact Radius

    Give me a minute before I post again

  9. #9
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Nunya, Business
    Posts
    23,684
    Children's Place qksrv

    Virtual Host or Web Application Not Found


    The web group /webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/Home has not been defined

    IBM WebSphere Application Server

    Lemme look for some more.

  10. #10
    Ad Network Rep ToddCrawford's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Santa Barbara, CA
    Posts
    2,162
    Trust - can you send me the PID/AID for these links so I can have someone look into it?
    Todd Crawford
    Co-Founder, Impact Radius

    Give me a minute before I post again

  11. #11
    ABW Ambassador flamingoworld's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    5,208
    Same problem here..

  12. #12
    ABW Ambassador flamingoworld's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    5,208
    Seems there site is down..

  13. #13
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Nunya, Business
    Posts
    23,684
    Oh yeah, there site is down. Checked Rochester and it's working now. Haven't seen anything else.

  14. #14
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    2,419
    Hmmmmm my old link does work now (I changed the domain back to qksrv as a test). My personal opinion now is as trust said initially - there is some of glitch occuring rather than it being the merchants site down. In each case I've found this, getting a new link and testing the link with the new domain resolved the issue. For 5 or 6 sites to be down and back up by the time I get a new link seems a stretch to consider but of course it would be possible.

  15. #15
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Nunya, Business
    Posts
    23,684
    Meant only The Children's Place site was down:

    http://www.childrensplace.com/ back up now.

    Checked some other links, seems to be ok.

  16. #16
    Ad Network Rep ToddCrawford's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Santa Barbara, CA
    Posts
    2,162
    Happypoon,

    All of our ad serving/tracking domains (new and old) go through the same pipe, so switching out domains would not make a difference.
    Todd Crawford
    Co-Founder, Impact Radius

    Give me a minute before I post again

  17. #17
    Member ripe's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    141
    Main problem in small TTL - 30 sec and in HUGE increasing q-ty requests for resolving.
    Nameservers cj overloaded as well as tracking servers if see more detail on responding time.
    For nameservers need:
    1) add ns1 as nameserver to ALL domain in list, for decrease load and improve connectivity.
    2) upgrade and/or tuning of nsX for minimize
    respond time and increase common throughput.
    3) increased TTL for non-war and fixed physical ip (members and etc sites) as minimum to 600-3600.
    4) increased TTL for war sites qksrv to as minimum 150-300.
    5) avoid using CNAME record - use A record with physical ip.

    For samples of more real tuning see bfast, google, yahoo, msn, microsoft, competitors.

    Sorry for technical details

  18. #18
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    2,419
    Thanks for the info Todd, it just seems very strange to me that in each case a new has link been been obtained - it worked when the other one with qksrv wasn't. I didn't have much concern at first but after seeing it more than a few times, I thought I'd mention it.

    Checking links is easy enough on my end and I'll post other such findings here when they occur. If it is a merchant glitch or CJ glitch should be easy enough to find out.

  19. Newsletter Signup

+ Reply to Thread

Similar Threads

  1. Links not working
    By MDMPS in forum Commission Junction - CJ
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: April 27th, 2009, 04:38 PM
  2. qksrv.net/Cj affiliate links never work on my computer
    By JeminiCrickets in forum Commission Junction - CJ
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: August 11th, 2004, 09:26 AM
  3. PageRank Flows through qksrv links?
    By jhoge - SeaEagle.com in forum Search Engine Optimization
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: October 13th, 2003, 07:11 AM
  4. CJ links not working
    By SpongeBob in forum Commission Junction - CJ
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: September 30th, 2003, 12:02 PM
  5. qksrv links and google PR
    By davester in forum Commission Junction - CJ
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: August 28th, 2003, 02:45 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •