Results 1 to 25 of 25
  1. #1
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    1,269
    Does anyone out there have a very very basic example of a template that is relevant to an affiliate sales type datafeed... the examples included with the trial are confusing the heck out of me, I'd really like to see how a product catalogue is laid out.

  2. #2
    Full Member
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    413
    SammyT;

    Below is some typical core coding for an Index page, Category Page, and Detailed Page for a typical product datafeed, e.g. FunToCollect.com.

    Using the proper settings files for WM is equallty important. I suggest that you thoroughly read (and re-read) some of the other postings on these topics, e.g., "Lessons Learned in Using WebMerge."

    ========================
    INDEX TEMPLATE TO MAKE A CATEGORY LIST
    ========================
    [WM-RECORD][WM-IndexLabel: CATEGORY]
    [WM-FIELD: CATEGORY]
    [/WM-IndexLabel][/WM-Record]
    ========================

    ========================
    CATEGORY TEMPLATE WITH PRODUCT IMAGES IN TABLE
    ========================
    [WM-FIELD: SUBCATEGORY nolink]
    Click an image below to view details for an individual product

    [WM-RECORD cols=4 width=800]
    [WM-IMAGEPATH: THUMBURL raw]
    [WM-FIELD: PRODUCTNAME] [WM-FIELD: PRICE nolink]
    [/WM-RECORD]
    ========================


    ========================
    DETAILED TEMPLATE WITH PRODUCT DETAILS
    ========================
    [WM-FIELD: CATEGORY]: [WM-FIELD: SUBCATEGORY]
    [WM-FIELD: PRODUCTNAME]
    Our Price: [WM-FIELD: PRICE]
    Click Here for details

    [WM-IMAGEPATH: FULLIMAGE]
    Click picture for details.

    [WM-FIELD: DESCRIPTION]

    [WM-LinkIndex]Back to List[/WM-LinkIndex]
    ========================

    Regards,

    FRANK
    Baertacks
    http://bemorecreative.com

  3. #3
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    1,269
    Thank you very much for your response. I've never worked with databases or feeds or anything like that so this is all incredibly confusing for me. I appreciate your response.

  4. #4
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    1,269
    Well I'm a hopeless case. I don't know how the data needs to be formatted so it will work with webmerge. I guess it helps if you have ANY experience with databases etc before attempting to use this program... unfortunately I don't.

  5. #5
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    2,419
    Yo Sammy, settle down dude.

    Stop saying you don't have experience and start saying you're going to learn. You don't need to have database experience to learn this tool and the only thing that can stop you from learning is you!

    Take a breath, get a positive attitude and try try again until you get it.

    ** Have you asked for change? **

  6. #6
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    1,269
    It'd be a heck of a lot easier if I had a clue about the necessary format of a datafeed!

    I never got my T-Shirt

  7. #7
    Resident Genius and Staunch Capitalist Leader's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    12,817
    Lots of formats can work.

    Basically all it needs is the information broken down by fields and records, and delimited with some character. Which character seems to be unimportant as long as it's uniformly applied, although feeds with tabs or pipes seem to be less likely to have problems in that area. Try asking one of the feed-enabled merchants here for a sample if you'd like to see one--it's kind of hard to explain but not so hard to understand by taking a look.

    Confounding elements can generally be worked around (slashes taken out of certain fields, etc.), but of course the best feeds don't have any confounding elements! Unfortunately, not all feeds are the "best." But imperfect feeds usually have different quirks from each other so trying to list all the things that can go wrong is fairly pointless.


    But, the MOST COMMON problem I come across is the presence of slashes in a field you'd like to name your pages after. This will make extra folders appear (instead of pages). Just delete all the slashes from whatever field you want to use as the page name (make sure not to kill the URLs that are in the feed at the same time) to stop that from happening.

    ALSO COMMON are weird characters in descriptions and names. I usually just find/replace 'em out. Find (funny character), replace with (nothing, or if something obviously should be there, then replace with that). That's the end of that problem, at least until you import new data.

    Catalog City's in a class all its own and that problem was solved in one click. "Drop Program" button--> *click*

    It's the most wonderful time of the year!~Old Christmas Song

  8. #8
    Full Member
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    413
    Sammy;

    It's difficult to give you advice without knowing more about your datafeed. What datafeed (and in what format) are you trying to work with? Does it have a CSV or TXT extention? Are you using Microsoft Excel?

    You should be able to open a datafeed directly from within WM without using Excel. Within WM, use the SOURCES tab and the "Exported File" function to open your datafeed using the appropriate "PRESET." If your datafeed file ends with ".CSV> then use the preset "MS Excel CSV - comma delimited". If your datafeed file ends with ".TXT, then use the preset "MS Excel text - tab delimited". If you do this correctly the field labels should appear on the left side of the screen and the first line of data will appear on the right side.

    If the above does not work, then your datafeed may be corrupted. If not, then I suggest that you get a copy. You can use other database programs, but Excel is probably the one that most people are using. You could try to open the datafeed using Excel and then re-export the data (after cleaning it per the suggestions made in the previous post). Each "FIELD" in the datafeed will appear as a separate column. The top row of the datafeed should be provide heading information, i.e. a label for each field, e.g., ProductID, SKU, Description, Product Name, etc. The order of the fields in the datafeed is NOT important. There are several ways to export the datafeed so that it can be accessed from WM. The easiest, I think, is to use the "Save As" function within Excel to save the file as a text (tab delimited).

    If none of the above seems to work, then let me know.

    Have a Creative Day!

    FRANK
    Baertracks
    http://bemorecreative.com

  9. #9
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    1,269
    k, i'm getting somewhere.... trialing it on a mondera datafeed. The only trouble I am having atm (there may be more later) is getting the affiliate link to appear with some sort of text 'Click here to buy' or something like that.

    I never got my T-Shirt

  10. #10
    Full Member
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    413
    Sammy;

    Good to hear that things are starting to become clearer.

    What you need now is coding in which WM inserts the affiliate link (PORIDURL) into a URL linked to "Click Here for Details". Something along the folloiwng lines should do it.

    <a href="[WM-FIELD: PROIDURL]">Click Here for details</a>

    BTW, you could also do the same thing with the product thumbnail so that when someone clicks on the picture they will go to the dealer site. Something like the following:

    <a href="[WM-FIELD: PROIDURL]">[WM-IMAGEPATH: PROTHUMBURL]</a>

    Have a Creative Day!

    FRANK
    Baertracks
    http://bemorecreative.com

  11. #11
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    1,269
    Thanks again for all your help!

    I've just purchased the full version and am waiting for my registration key so I can get started

    I never got my T-Shirt

  12. #12
    Action Jackson - King of the World
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    2,201
    I am struggling when it comes to the details page. I have the following but I can't figure why it doesn't display anything?

    [ WM-Record ]<br>
    [ WM-Field: PRODUCT_NAME ]<br>
    <IMG SRC=[WM-ImagePath: PHOTO]><br>
    [ WM-Field: DESCRIPTION ]<br>
    <A HREF=[ WM-Field: URL ]>More Info</A>
    [ /WM-Record ]

  13. #13
    Full Member
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    413
    Try dropping the [WM-Record] [/WM-Record].

    That TAG is only used on Index Pages.

  14. #14
    Action Jackson - King of the World
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    2,201
    yep just tried that Frank. Still no luck. Still just get the tags displaying:

    [ WM-Field: PRODUCT_NAME ]<br>
    <IMG SRC=[WM-ImagePath: PHOTO]><br>
    [ WM-Field: DESCRIPTION ]<br>
    <A HREF=[ WM-Field: URL ]>More Info</A>

  15. #15
    Full Member
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    413
    Are those extra spaces just after to "[" and before "]" intentional? Try removing them.

  16. #16
    Action Jackson - King of the World
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    2,201
    Thanks Frank!
    I had added the spaces before I took the record thing out. Now I can work on optimizing how the pages will work!

  17. #17
    ABW Ambassador buy_online's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Richmond, VA
    Posts
    3,234
    Keep us posted, we'll try to help.

    Fred

  18. #18
    Action Jackson - King of the World
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    2,201
    I love that you can limit the index to so many links per page. But how do you show the navigation that leads to the other pages?

  19. #19
    Full Member
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    413
    Have you tried including these tags as part of your index template?

    [WM-LinkIndexFirst]First Page[/WM-LinkIndexFirst]
    [WM-LinkIndexPrevious]Previous Page[/WM-LinkIndexPrevious]
    [WM-LinkIndexNext]Next Page[/WM-LinkIndexNext]
    [WM-LinkIndexLast]Last Page[/WM-LinkIndexLast]

  20. #20
    Action Jackson - King of the World
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    2,201
    worked beautifully

  21. #21
    Newbie
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    5
    Hey all...

    I'm trying to make my index page using this code.

    <span class="ev_code_RED">
    [FMP-Record]
    [FMP-IndexLabel: CATEGORY]
    [FMP-FIELD: CATEGORY]
    [/FMP-IndexLabel]
    [/FMP-Record]
    </span>

    Its the only code that will put out somthing and still is not correct... i've tryed the post above and i had no luck...

    Here is what i get on the html with unknown and Software Synthesizers ect... being links

    <span class="ev_code_RED">

    [FMP-IndexLabel: CATEGORY]
    UNKNOWN
    [/FMP-IndexLabel]

    [FMP-IndexLabel: CATEGORY]
    Software Synthesizers and Samplers
    [/FMP-IndexLabel]

    [FMP-IndexLabel: CATEGORY]

    [/FMP-IndexLabel]
    </span>

    why dose the code show up on the index page...

    can anyone help me out?

    thanks

  22. #22
    Full Member
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    413
    What's the "FMP" all about?

    Try changing "FMP" to "WM" so that WebMerge will recognize this aa WebMege code.

  23. #23
    Newbie
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    5
    The "FMP" was in the example html pages... But i have tryed this
    <span class="ev_code_RED">[WM-RECORD][WM-IndexLabel: CATEGORY]
    [WM-FIELD: CATEGORY]
    [/WM-IndexLabel][/WM-Record]</span>


    All i get in return is the same thing...

  24. #24
    Full Member
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    413
    This coding looks OK.
    [WM-RECORD][WM-IndexLabel: CATEGORY]
    [WM-FIELD: CATEGORY]
    [/WM-IndexLabel][/WM-Record]

    It's hard to suggest what might be wrong without seeing your complete template and datafeed. Send me a Private Message if you want me to take a quick look.

    Check the HTML coding to make sure there are no other table codes between the WM tags (like &lt;p&gt;, &lt;tr&gt; or &lt;td&gt; (&lt;br&gt; is Ok to use).

    Check your datafeed to make sure the field CATEGORY is an EXACT match (all caps, no trailing spaces like CATEGORY_).

  25. #25
    Affiliate Manager
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Los Angeles, California
    Posts
    1,913
    <BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by truckin:
    The "FMP" was in the example html pages... But i have tryed this
    <span class="ev_code_RED">[WM-RECORD][WM-IndexLabel: CATEGORY]
    [WM-FIELD: CATEGORY]
    [/WM-IndexLabel][/WM-Record]</span>

    All i get in return is the same thing... <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

    The "FMP" prefix was used in v1.0, as the tag set in that version adopted the syntax from FileMaker Pro. With v2.0 we've gone farther in some areas than FileMaker's tag set, so the "FMP" was depricated in favor of "WM". Both should work, but with v2.0 and later the "FMP" take an extra step of processing (it converts them to "WM" before parsing the tags).

    One thing to check is that your codes are being added to your template in source mode, if you're using a WYSIWYG tool like Dreamweaver or Frontpage. In some WYSIWYG tools, adding WebMerge tags in layout mode causes the software to alter them in the HTML (e.g., "&lt;" becomes "&lt;").

    Also, make sure the delimiters are set correctly for the source file you're using. In most cases you'll get the proper delimiters by choosing the appropriate preset from the popup list in the Sources tab. If the file you're using is of a format not listed there you can set them manually, with the goal that you should be able to see all of your field names and the first row of data in the fields in that tab.
    Richard Gaskin
    Developer of WebMerge: Publish any data feed on any site
    http://www.fourthworld.com

  26. Newsletter Signup

+ Reply to Thread

Similar Threads

  1. is there a template to use ?
    By mature_student in forum Cusimano.com Scripts
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: August 26th, 2005, 12:07 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •