Does anyone have an idea how to use webmerge with the art.com datafeed? It's got thousands of main categories. Mind you I'm just learning but when I make an index page from the art.com datafeed it pulls from the parentcategory column all the different categories which are for example instead of animals being listed as the parentcategory and birds being the secondary category, it would list an animals link, a birds link, an eagles link and so forth.

Art.com's feeds categories are not lined up with animals being the main cat, then the subs like birds and dogs, and then another sub for eagles, hounds and so forth. It's all listed together under the parent category. It would take more time to fix the datafeed than to make pages one at a time.

Is there a way to do this with the art.com datafeed?

More Cheesier Than Ever Cheesehead's Avatar
    I made separate templates and webmerge files for each category. I used 2 webmerge files and index, subcategory, & detail templates for each category. I sorted and then cut and pasted data into new data files. A bit of work but I couldn't get the data to sort out to my liking any other way.
    This World is Not My Home
    We're gonna go inside, we're gonna go outside, inside and outside. . . And then we're gonna go go go and we're not gonna stop til we get across that goalline! Quotes from the movie Rudy, 1993

First, my disclaimer. I am looking at an art.com datafeed from last year, so no guarantee that what I am seeing matcheds the current feed.

In my feed I think they have the fields prodPrimCat and prodSecCat reversed. If I sort the feed by prodPrimCat followed by prodSecCat it doesn't make sense (and looks a bit like what you described in your post).

If, however, I sort the feed by prodSecCat followed by prodPrimCat, the fields line up the way tha I normally use them in making a four-tiered website:

Animals Antelope & Gazelle
    Animals Badgers & Martens
    Animals Bears
    Animals Bears
    Animals Bighorn Sheep