I am still on a learning curve and have spoken with a number of affiliates with shareasale, and I am wondering why affiliates don't like merchants to use paypal?

I started on my site with a pay-pal shopping cart and the feedback I received said to dump the pay-pal shopping cart. I have been using pay-pal to receive payments for three years and have had about 300 transactions with them through online auctions.

I have never had a problem with them as far as refunds or reciving funds, etc. Please tell me why so many merchants and affiliates are against them?

I can see the merchants saying the fees might be too high if you are selling volume, but for a starter, it might be more affordable than yahoo shopping cart.

When I looked at getting Yahoo shopping cart, they charge a monthly fee, then 1.5% per transaction and then you still have to get a merchant account to process credit cards which
    will also take a few percent.

With Pay-pal, I thought I can eliminate the middle-man (Yahoo) and make the transactions take place in one step by using a Pay-pal shopping cart. I already noticed that some people use a Yahoo shopping cart and then use Pay-pal as their credit card processor anyway.

I was about to start an affiliate program with a Pay-PAl cart because I have been comfortable with them for three years, but I am hesitant now that people are saying they are no good.

Do people think it will prevent sales? Because I am planning on having a phone number available on my site with a script that would state the affiliate number of the refferer, in case I get telephone sales as well. This way Affiliates always get credit even for telephone sales.

Somebody, please clarify this issue for me!

Thanks,
    R. Lupu

15 years and counting
    I've a Pay Pal account. I like it. Never had a problem but I'm getting 5 to 10 spam emails a day from crooks spoofing their email headers. It's getting on my nerves. I imagine I'm not alone.
    quote:
    Dear PayPal member,