Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    ABW Founder Haiko de Poel, Jr.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    21,609
    Does anyone know how to create a live screenshot (256 X 184 pixels but the full screen) to insert dynamically into a page?

    Haiko

  2. #2
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    ÄúsTrálíĺ
    Posts
    1,372
    you mean apart from the "print screen", "paste", "re-size" standard procedure?.... no. not that I know of.

  3. #3
    ABW Founder Haiko de Poel, Jr.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    21,609
    Pete,

    There is a way to create it on the fly and dynamically insert it ... trafficmagnet.com does it with their spam, I just haven't gotten some in the past month <IMG src=http://www.abestweb.com/ubb/icons/icon36.gif>

    Haiko

  4. #4
    Full Member
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    207
    Me too. I'v got their spam twice on both my projectes. [img]/infopop/emoticons/icon_frown.gif[/img]

  5. #5
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    ÄúsTrálíĺ
    Posts
    1,372
    Oh, yeah.. I've seen those emails..

    The only way which I can think of, which is kind of crude..

    I have a macro writing software.

    great piece of software, heaps more options than the old MS Recorder.

    You wouldn't be able to use your 'puter while it's working though.

    make it load a page in I.E.
    Force a print screen
    switch to pain proggy
    paste
    resize the pic
    save it.

    switch back to I.E.

    repeat 'till done.

    If you want this route, I will hunt down the URL for the software..

    I had to use it once to enter 3200 products into some accounting software.
    Each product was a unique combination of 15 different components (different quantities, lengths etc).

    I used VB to output my quantities into a text file, then this macro to read the file & use the appropriate keypresses in the accounting software.
    Took about 3.5 hours to run, but it worked 100%.

  6. #6
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    ÄúsTrálíĺ
    Posts
    1,372
    Have a look at Paint Shop Pro (from Jasc).

    File -> Import -> Screen Capture -> Setup

    It will capture the client area of a window on the press of a het key, or after a set amount of time. There is an option for multiple captures.

    You'd have to navigate to each page though.

    You could get the macro software to load each page (if you have a list of 1000's), and get it to set of the capture.

  7. #7
    Newbie
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    19
    how about use a script that executes a program, such as a browser, to take a screen shot. Then the script either uses a module to resize the image, or executes a program, such as the GIMP, to resize the image. Then the script simply sends the person a little message with their website's screenshot in an attachment. [img]/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif[/img]

  8. #8
    Newbie
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    19
    Or in your case. If you wanted to insert it dynamically into a page, you could just have the script upload it to an ftp. Then trigger your script to putting it in a database, etc.

  9. #9
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    758
    Haiko, I got one of those spam emails that include the screenshot of your site.

    I have published the code to one of my pages.

    here it is

    Hope that helps!

  10. #10
    ABW Founder Haiko de Poel, Jr.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    21,609
    Thanks guys ...

    What I really wanted was a way to do it without an actual screenshot ... so the pic was a live picture of that site at that very second just resized. It's too complicated to do ... so I'll just put a logo [img]/infopop/emoticons/icon_wink.gif[/img]

    Haiko

  11. Newsletter Signup

+ Reply to Thread

Similar Threads

  1. BFLH what's with my screenshots?
    By Roland in forum Commission Junction - CJ
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: November 23rd, 2003, 06:15 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •