Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Full Member
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    429
    I just added 128 MG ram to my poor old
    laptop (it can only have 192MG), and
    it seems to be running Worse than it
    did with only 64 MG!

    I can only open a few screens before
    things freeze up. When I check my
    system performance with only 1 screen
    open, 40% of RAM is being utilized.

    I didn't change anything other than adding
    the RAM -- what could be causing the
    memory drain?

    And is there something in Windows ME that
    will program my laptop to utilize the
    RAM better or is there a software program
    that anyone can recommend?

    BTW, I am Very Computer Illiterate -- it's
    a learning disability :rolleyes:
    So all help is appreciated.

    Thanks in advance,
    Anne

  2. #2
    Full Member
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    352
    Get rid of Windows ME. Reformat your drive, load windows 98 sec edition.

  3. #3
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    2,402
    Bingo...Getting rid of ME has my vote too...Are you absolutely positive you purchased the right ram for that thing...


    Tom Pyles

  4. #4
    Full Member
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    429
    I'm pretty sure I've got the right
    RAM -- it only had one slot where
    I added it, and the system acknowledges
    it -- it's showing up in the Performance.

    I can upgrade my Windows ME to XP thru
    Compaq -- but don't really want to
    reformat my drive!

    Thanks,
    Anne

    [ 01-26-2002: Message edited by: gettnthar ]

  5. #5
    ABW Veteran Student Heyder's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    5,482
    Is the new ram stick damaged?

    It's hard to tell but I was running damaged ram for three months without knowing it.

    Big problems like freezing up all the time shutdowns are very slow and booting is very slow.

    Factory sealed ram isn't always in perfect condition.

    See if you can check it out and replace if there's a problem.

    My sign was that I had a 256 strip and a 128 strip = 384 but my machine read only 383.

    I should have known but I let it go as it was and duh couldn't figure out what the problem was.

    One day I grabbed the ram stick out of my machine just after shutdown and it was very hot.

  6. #6
    Full Member
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    352
    Upgrade to XP then. Check the memory again too.

  7. #7
    Full Member
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    429
    Hi Heyder,

    I don't think the Ram is damaged --
    But thank you for that suggestion.
    I hadn't thought of that.
    I checked it after shutdown, it was
    warm yet not overly hot.

    And, shut-down and booting up are
    faster than before.

    Also checked the memory -- it's
    showing 188 (should be 192) but
    4 goes to device drivers so that's
    okay.

    Actually, since I wrote this, things
    have been working pretty well (isn't
    That always the case?) Only one
    freeze up and I was running 3 or 4
    programs at the time (sometimes I get
    carried away) and was trying to startup
    another.

    Before, though just opening several
    browser windows was causing freezing --
    yet it might have been the websites
    I was visiting. Who knows? ALL My computers
    have acted "mysteriously" at times!

    Thanks,
    Anne

  8. #8
    Newbie
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    28
    Actually, I had ram problems before, "yes with brand new ram on a win 98 system" it could be that your mother board is really picky about what brand of ram you use. Try to make the new stick, the only one, if that fixes it, then you are fine, try placing the old ram only in place and double check. Like all pc repairs/upgrades. If you do something, and it starts causing problems, what you just did prior is 99.9% the reason why. So...backtrack.

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    78
    I'm starting to think upgrades are a bad idea
    I also upgraded my ram and there hardly any difference
    Then I upgraded to the latest version of internet explorer and it crashes about 3 times a day
    Who uses a mac? Do you have these problems or are macs more stable?

  10. #10
    Master of Design AlexBet's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    1,364
    Get rid of ME and check the RAM. Maybe your 64Mb RAM was running on 133Hz and this one is running on 100Hz. It should say it right on the RAM stick how much Hz does the RAM stick work on..

  11. Newsletter Signup

+ Reply to Thread

Similar Threads

  1. For Those Using Windows 7 - Question RAM
    By Trust in forum Virtual Family and Off-Topic
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: July 26th, 2011, 02:22 PM
  2. Replies: 9
    Last Post: April 11th, 2010, 11:53 PM
  3. Ebay leaks get worse and worse
    By Amy_S in forum eBay Partner Network
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: September 23rd, 2008, 04:43 PM
  4. Crucial RAM
    By Wallboy in forum Other Affiliate Networks
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: August 18th, 2004, 04:21 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •