Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Full Member c4's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    488
    If I have a site on http://www.server1.com, is it possible to call (include the output of) a CGI script which is located on http://www.server2.com with SSI?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Newbie
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    2,694
    If the host where the CGI is lets you. Many don't because it's insecure.

  3. #3
    Full Member c4's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    488
    Well, I have a paid hosting with full CGI permissions (I can execute scripts anywhere on the server, not only in the cgi-bin dir) and I can manage my own .HTACCESS file if there is something that can be set.

    I have no problems calling CGI from another server via Javascript or a direct link, but can't seem to get SSI command calling CGI working ...

  4. #4
    ABW Veteran Student Heyder's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    5,482
    c4 depending on the application it can usually be done.


    Even though this script is free I'm going to give you my affiliate link.
    www.smarterscripts.com/r.cgi?mikemcnabb

    Otherwise just go to www.smarterscripts.com

    The program is called executer.cgi and it generally works for most needs.

    [ 07-26-2002: Message edited by: Heyder ]

  5. #5
    Newbie
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    2,694
    If I'm not mistaken, he doesn't want to use Javascript. Javascript is what executer uses to make the call. He wants to call it with SSI, not Javascript, but from outside his host. SSI calls are generally not allowed from outside the host the script is on.

    C4, - It's not a matter of CGI permissions or the fact you can execute outside your cgi-bin. SSI permissions are a separate issue and are not the same thing as CGI permissions (SSI is not CGI).

    {

    [ 07-26-2002: Message edited by: eaglefire ]

  6. #6
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    2,402
    To the best of my knowledge this won't work. SSI is on the same server, and even then on a shared enviroment it is only within that users directory (and sub directories). I wish this was possible because I'd already have a million uses for it. Unless there is a work around or a method I don't know about, I don't believe its possible.

  7. #7
    Newbie
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    2,694
    Thanks Tom.

    AFAIK you can do it on the same box using a symbolic link between directories.

    But no, it can't be done from outside the host. It just won't work.

  8. Newsletter Signup

+ Reply to Thread

Similar Threads

  1. Domain issue since server change - cgi-sys/defaultwebpage.cgi
    By mobilebadboy in forum Domains & Hosting
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: July 31st, 2011, 10:47 PM
  2. cgi-world/cgiwrap/domain/cgi-bin/amazon.pl
    By KariBon in forum Cusimano.com Scripts
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: February 10th, 2003, 01:54 PM
  3. Problems with .cgi vs .pl files on server
    By c4 in forum Domains & Hosting
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: November 8th, 2002, 11:59 AM
  4. Calling CGI with Javascript
    By c4 in forum Programming / Datafeeds / Tools
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: April 16th, 2002, 03:16 PM
  5. Anybody could with CGI and smartsearch.cgi??
    By natedog in forum Programming / Datafeeds / Tools
    Replies: 39
    Last Post: January 16th, 2002, 07:22 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •