ABW Ambassador
    This is my first attempt at creating a database based site (using ASP).

I have set up the domain and I have set up the database on the site with a DSN. I have also locally set up a DSN (the same) to connect to a local database.

If I post my code, will it automatically connect to the remote database using the DSN, or do I need to do something else?

Can I just upload my local database over the top of the remote database, and if I do will it automatically recognise the connection?

I need to get over this concept hurdle and understand how the connection is made.

Any help would be appreciated.

I don't use ASP but Coldfusion is similar in the way it interacts with a database so I'll give this a go.

<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>

If I post my code, will it automatically connect to the remote database using the DSN, or do I need to do something else? <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

You have to have a connection string in your script so that it will connect to your DSN.

<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>
    Can I just upload my local database over the top of the remote database, and if I do will it automatically recognise the connection? <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Yes, and yes. You can upload a new/fresh copy of the DB, it will overwrite your existing copy, but the DSN will still be viable. You don't need to set it up again.

HTH

{

"Laziness, Impatience, Hubris. Pick any three" ~ YAPC 19100

ABW Ambassador
    <BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR> You have to have a connection string in your script so that it will connect to your DSN. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Done that.

So now the only thing is to ahead and break it [img]/infopop/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif[/img]

Thanks.

If all my problems could be solved this easily, I would be a happy man.